Industries & Practices

Banking & Financial Services Litigation

Overview

For all providers of financial services — from small community banks to global financial companies — litigation can be a complex process, draining the resources these businesses need to successfully operate and grow. Banks, lenders and financial services companies look to us for strategic and focused counsel when facing federal and state statutory causes of action, as well as common law claims. Recognizing and understanding the interface between consumer financial services litigation and bankruptcy claims, we often collaborate with our bankruptcy attorneys to maximize the defenses and litigation options available to clients. Our firm’s taxation and real estate attorneys are also readily available to build innovative and dynamic solutions that consider the full range of possible defense options.

Some of the areas in which we assist our banking and financial services clients include:

  • Bankruptcy litigation
  • Consumer finance litigation
  • Class action defense
  • Government-led litigation
  • Securities/FINRA litigation
  • Predatory lending
  • Residential contested foreclosures
  • Foreclosure and receivership enforcement
  • CFPB and other regulatory enforcement actions
  • Fraud
  • Negligent misrepresentation
  • Negligent supervision
  • Illegality of contract
  • Breach of contract
  • Breach of implied duty of good faith

Related Industries & Practices

Experience

Insights & Resources
People
Drew H. Campbell Drew H. Campbell Partner
Drew H. Campbell Partner
Columbus
614.227.2319
dcampbell@bricker.com
Robert T. Castor Robert T. Castor Partner
Robert T. Castor Partner
Columbus
614.227.4871
rcastor@bricker.com
Daniel C. Gibson Daniel C. Gibson Partner
Daniel C. Gibson Partner
Columbus
614.227.2324
dgibson@bricker.com
Ali I. Haque Ali I. Haque Associate
Ali I. Haque Associate
Columbus
614.227.2359
ahaque@bricker.com
Kenneth C. Johnson Kenneth C. Johnson Of Counsel
Kenneth C. Johnson Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2322
kjohnson@bricker.com
Gordon W. Johnston Gordon W. Johnston Of Counsel
Gordon W. Johnston Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2381
gjohnston@bricker.com
Nelson M. Reid Nelson M. Reid Partner
Nelson M. Reid Partner
Columbus
614.227.8812
nreid@bricker.com
Justin Ristau Justin Ristau Partner
Justin Ristau Partner
Columbus
614.227.4857
jristau@bricker.com
David K. Stein David K. Stein Partner
David K. Stein Partner
Columbus
614.227.7740
dstein@bricker.com