Industries & Practices

Banking & Financial Services

We partner with financial services companies nationwide to develop legal, regulatory and compliance strategies.

Overview

From local credit unions and community banks to international conglomerates, financial service providers rely on our deep understanding of their markets, business issues, liabilities, risks and opportunities. We help them make proactive and informed decisions that position them for long-term success. Our cost-effective approach to providing legal services and our track record of success make us a valuable partner to any organization in this highly-regulated industry. 

Related Industries & Practices

Areas of Focus

With in-depth knowledge of state and federal financial services law, our attorneys offer guidance in development of compliance protocols, auditing policies and procedures, regulatory examinations, due diligence training and advertising and sales practice.

Litigation & Class Actions

We defend financial institutions of all sizes in a variety of litigation proceedings, including consumer finance litigation, CFPB and other regulatory enforcement actions, bankruptcy proceedings, residential contested foreclosures, class actions and litigation management across multiple jurisdictions. Our clients look to us for strategic and focused counsel when facing federal and state statutory causes of action, as well as common law claims.

Banking & Financial Services Litigation >>

Class Action Defense >>

Well-versed in the complex documentation and administration of real estate transactions, our team is skilled in handling a variety of loan types and capital financings. We represent lenders of all sizes in connection with construction and permanent loans, state and federal historic tax credit projects, and a variety of general commercial real estate financing transactions.

Commercial Finance

We maintain a sophisticated, high-volume commercial lending practice. Our attorneys focus on the representation of financial institutions and other lenders in commercial lending and structured finance transactions, including asset-based credit facilities, second lien and mezzanine facilities, loan syndications, tax credit bridge financing, real estate secured facilities and more.

Often representing creditors of troubled businesses, we use a multidisciplinary approach to solve clients’ problems both quickly and cost-effectively. We regularly represent lenders in all sorts of debt restructures and workouts. Our team uses refined negotiation skills and vast transactional knowledge to design customized solutions that address the unique goals of each client.

We connect banks, lenders and financial services companies to the legislative, administrative and regulatory opportunities that support their goals. Our attorneys use firsthand knowledge of complex election, ethics, lobbying and contracting law to build productive relationships with officials and advocate on behalf of clients’ public policy interests.

Experience

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Insights & Resources
People
Nicholas I. Bass Nicholas I. Bass Associate
Nicholas I. Bass Associate
Columbus
614.227.6061
nbass@bricker.com
Drew H. Campbell Drew H. Campbell Partner
Drew H. Campbell Partner
Columbus
614.227.2319
dcampbell@bricker.com
Robert T. Castor Robert T. Castor Partner
Robert T. Castor Partner
Columbus
614.227.4871
rcastor@bricker.com
David K. Conrad David K. Conrad Partner
David K. Conrad Partner
Columbus
614.227.2304
dconrad@bricker.com
Christopher J. Dusseau Christopher J. Dusseau Partner
Christopher J. Dusseau Partner
Columbus
614.227.8889
cdusseau@bricker.com
Teresa A. Ehmann Teresa A. Ehmann Paralegal
Teresa A. Ehmann Paralegal
Columbus
614.227.4805
tehmann@bricker.com
Kristin Eppert Kristin Eppert OSBA Certified Paralegal
Kristin Eppert OSBA Certified Paralegal
Columbus
614.227.8833
keppert@bricker.com
Victoria Flinn McCurdy Victoria Flinn McCurdy Partner
Victoria Flinn McCurdy Partner
Columbus
614.227.2326
vflinnmccurdy@bricker.com
Daniel C. Gibson Daniel C. Gibson Partner
Daniel C. Gibson Partner
Columbus
614.227.2324
dgibson@bricker.com
Katherine Spies Giumenti Katherine Spies Giumenti Partner
Katherine Spies Giumenti Partner
Columbus
614.227.8825
kgiumenti@bricker.com
Ali I. Haque Ali I. Haque Associate
Ali I. Haque Associate
Columbus
614.227.2359
ahaque@bricker.com
Kara H. Herrnstein Kara H. Herrnstein Associate
Kara H. Herrnstein Associate
Columbus
614.227.4908
kherrnstein@bricker.com
Stephen Intihar Stephen Intihar Partner
Stephen Intihar Partner
Columbus
614.227.2376
sintihar@bricker.com
David S. Jackson David S. Jackson Partner
David S. Jackson Partner
Columbus
614.227.4818
djackson@bricker.com
Gordon W. Johnston Gordon W. Johnston Of Counsel
Gordon W. Johnston Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2381
gjohnston@bricker.com
Meagan E. Leach Meagan E. Leach Associate
Meagan E. Leach Associate
Columbus
614.227.4847
mleach@bricker.com
Quintin F. Lindsmith Quintin F. Lindsmith Partner
Quintin F. Lindsmith Partner
Columbus
614.227.8802
qlindsmith@bricker.com
William D. Mason William D. Mason Partner
William D. Mason Partner
Cleveland
216.523.5468
wmason@bricker.com
Christina J. Miller Christina J. Miller OSBA Certified Paralegal
Christina J. Miller OSBA Certified Paralegal
Columbus
614.227.8809
cmiller@bricker.com
Noorjahan Rahman Noorjahan Rahman Associate
Noorjahan Rahman Associate
Columbus
614.227.6066
nrahman@bricker.com
Nelson M. Reid Nelson M. Reid Partner
Nelson M. Reid Partner
Columbus
614.227.8812
nreid@bricker.com
Justin Ristau Justin Ristau Partner
Justin Ristau Partner
Columbus
614.227.4857
jristau@bricker.com
Anne Marie Sferra Anne Marie Sferra Partner
Anne Marie Sferra Partner
Columbus
614.227.2394
asferra@bricker.com
Sommer L. Sheely Sommer L. Sheely Partner
Sommer L. Sheely Partner
Columbus
614.227.8870
ssheely@bricker.com
Christopher N. Slagle Christopher N. Slagle Partner
Christopher N. Slagle Partner
Columbus
614.227.8826
cslagle@bricker.com
Bryan M. Smeenk Bryan M. Smeenk Associate
Bryan M. Smeenk Associate
Columbus
614.227.2314
bsmeenk@bricker.com
David K. Stein David K. Stein Partner
David K. Stein Partner
Columbus
614.227.7740
dstein@bricker.com
Rachel Lusk Stine Rachel Lusk Stine Associate
Rachel Lusk Stine Associate
Columbus
614.227.7715
rstine@bricker.com
Christopher N. Swank Christopher N. Swank Partner
Christopher N. Swank Partner
Columbus
614.227.4895
cswank@bricker.com
Tina M. Waters Tina M. Waters OSBA Certified Paralegal
Tina M. Waters OSBA Certified Paralegal
Columbus
614.227.8847
twaters@bricker.com
In The Headlines