Industries & Practices

Business Law

We are trusted advisers to both large and small clients, joining legal knowledge and business acumen to strengthen companies and help them ensure a successful future.

Overview

Balancing customer needs, global competition, evolving technology and more, today’s corporate leaders must manage their operations skillfully to build and sustain a successful enterprise. Legal considerations demand time and resources every step of the way, whether the company is a technology start-up, a decades-old family business or a publicly held corporation.

Bricker & Eckler’s Business Law attorneys blend market, industry and legal knowledge to help their clients drive progress without compromising their strategy. Because we’ve worked with companies of various sizes and industries, we know that even the smallest transactions and safeguards can be vital to an organization’s future. Having the right connections for all types of businesses, we help our clients access capital, properly structure transactions and protect their future. We take the time to learn about our clients’ businesses and goals so we can properly assess the risks and benefits of each decision they make.

Corporate clients partner with our integrated team throughout their business’s life cycle. From formation to drafting agreements to negotiating deals, we are prepared to ensure all our clients’ transactions – and the actions of their corporate officials – do not conflict with local, state or federal laws. Our attorneys are flexible and incisive, fulfilling both the day-to-day and the complex legal counsel that rising companies need most.

Bricker & Eckler acts as general or special counsel to clients engaged in industrial, commercial, financial, service and nonprofit activities. Among the areas where we excel:

  • Emerging market capitalization and growth strategies
  • Advising the C-suite on the legal and business implications of their decisions
  • Corporate governance (including counsel of boards of directors)
  • Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) compliance
  • Mergers and acquisitions

Related Industries & Practices

Areas of Focus
Business Transactions

Successful legal transactions are the lifeblood of any business, no matter the industry in which it operates or its size. We assist our clients in structuring such transactions to comply with all applicable state and federal laws, and work with them to meet their business goals within the framework of such laws.

Emerging Market Capitalization

Bricker & Eckler is the emerging business's partner in growth. We highly value our relationships with small and mid-sized businesses and provide entrepreneurs with sound legal advice and guidance that fits a start-up budget. In order to best serve these unique clients, our firm has a multidisciplinary team of attorneys that support growing businesses through a myriad of services – organizational structure, financing and capital-raising efforts, taxation, succession planning, employment, intellectual property, licensing, networking, dispute resolution, and real estate issues, to name a few.

Executives and other business leaders look to us to help establish a healthy corporate climate that is protected from noncompliance and litigation through board evaluations, audits of governance practices, strategic planning, board training and board representation. We provide independent legal counsel and assess legal rights and obligations, minimizing the risks associated with the important and often sensitive duties of an executive board. For more information, please visit our Corporate Governance page.

C-Suite Counsel

To navigate the maze of obligations and challenges today’s C-Suite leaders face, Bricker & Eckler attorneys serve as trusted advisors to ensure compliant, responsible and accountable measures are taken in connection with business decisions. We help anticipate and mitigate risks before they create barriers to success or lead to government or public scrutiny.

SEC Compliance

Business that know and abide by Securities and Exchange Commission requirements are able to flourish in the local, national and global marketplace. Because SEC regulations are continually evolving, Bricker works with publicly held businesses to help ensure they consistently meet SEC requirements and minimize their risk of unfair or fraudulent operations.

Mergers & Acquisitions

The structure and negotiation of M&A transactions often require the coordination of a variety of legal skills. From small-dollar projects to highly complex public transactions, our attorneys, who have decades of combined merger, acquisition, affiliation and disposition experience, collaborate with our other practice groups to craft agreements that consider all the elements of a successful agreement. This coordinated effort often meets and exceeds our clients’ expectations even when they are involved in the most complex M&A transactions.

Intellectual Property Strategy

Intellectual property is often a company’s most valuable asset and can be an important strategic tool in the marketplace. Our team’s technical background, broad legal and business knowledge and deep experience in evaluating, protecting, enforcing and licensing intellectual property help businesses navigate today’s legal obstacles and safeguard companies while they building a portfolio of intangible resources. Visit our Intellectual Property practice.

Experience

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Insights & Resources
People
Jerry O. Allen Jerry O. Allen Partner
Jerry O. Allen Partner
Columbus
614.227.8834
jallen@bricker.com
John P. Beavers John P. Beavers Of Counsel
John P. Beavers Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2361
jbeavers@bricker.com
Brian C. Begg Brian C. Begg Staff Attorney
Brian C. Begg Staff Attorney
Columbus
614.227.4829
bbegg@bricker.com
Jonathan T. Brollier Jonathan T. Brollier Partner
Jonathan T. Brollier Partner
Columbus
614.227.8805
jbrollier@bricker.com
Alexander M. Brown Alexander M. Brown Partner
Alexander M. Brown Partner
Columbus
614.227.2344
abrown@bricker.com
Robert T. Castor Robert T. Castor Partner
Robert T. Castor Partner
Columbus
614.227.4871
rcastor@bricker.com
Mark A. Engel Mark A. Engel Partner
Mark A. Engel Partner
Cincinnati-Dayton
513.870.6565
mengel@bricker.com
Christopher M. Ernst Christopher M. Ernst Partner
Christopher M. Ernst Partner
Cleveland
216.523.5472
cernst@bricker.com
John F. Furniss III John F. Furniss III Partner
John F. Furniss III Partner
Columbus
614.227.8919
jfurniss@bricker.com
Kenneth C. Johnson Kenneth C. Johnson Partner
Kenneth C. Johnson Partner
Columbus
614.227.2322
kjohnson@bricker.com
Gordon W. Johnston Gordon W. Johnston Partner
Gordon W. Johnston Partner
Columbus
614.227.2381
gjohnston@bricker.com
Kevin M. Kinross Kevin M. Kinross Partner
Kevin M. Kinross Partner
Columbus
614.227.8824
kkinross@bricker.com
Edward A. Matto Edward A. Matto Partner
Edward A. Matto Partner
Columbus
614.227.2340
ematto@bricker.com
Christopher L. McCloskey Christopher L. McCloskey Partner
Christopher L. McCloskey Partner
Columbus
614.227.2385
cmccloskey@bricker.com
Christina J. Miller Christina J. Miller OSBA Certified Paralegal
Christina J. Miller OSBA Certified Paralegal
Columbus
614.227.8809
cmiller@bricker.com
Karen M. Moore Karen M. Moore Partner
Karen M. Moore Partner
Columbus
614.227.2363
kmoore@bricker.com
Robert C. Rafferty Robert C. Rafferty Partner
Robert C. Rafferty Partner
Columbus
614.227.2306
rrafferty@bricker.com
James P. Schuck James P. Schuck Of Counsel
James P. Schuck Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.8839
jschuck@bricker.com
Doug Shevelow, P.E. Doug Shevelow, P.E. Partner
Doug Shevelow, P.E. Partner
Columbus
614.227.4803
dshevelow@bricker.com
David C. Spialter David C. Spialter Of Counsel
David C. Spialter Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2342
dspialter@bricker.com
Tess G. Tannehill Tess G. Tannehill Associate
Tess G. Tannehill Associate
Columbus
614.227.2347
ttannehill@bricker.com
Thomas C. Washbush Thomas C. Washbush Partner
Thomas C. Washbush Partner
Columbus
614.227.7742
twashbush@bricker.com
David M. Whittaker David M. Whittaker Partner
David M. Whittaker Partner
Columbus
614.227.2355
dwhittaker@bricker.com