Industries & Practices

Class Action Defense

Overview

No two class action cases are alike, yet each can pose a significant threat to key business practices or even to the business itself. Having successfully defended class action claims in state and federal courts for more than twenty years, our class action attorneys work seamlessly with the firm’s other practice groups to offer tailored advice to clients in a variety of industries. Our team is especially known for its ability to devise early and effective defense strategies that result in the dismissal of many cases before class certification and discovery.

In each class action suit, we focus on the unique needs of the client and the particular case at hand by assessing the following:

  • Pre-certification dismissal options
  • Other strategies for early pleading, including fail-safe class definitions, ascertainability and no-loss classes
  • The significance of the potential threat to the business
  • The preclusive effect of early global resolution

Our litigators possess a wide array of class action experience:

  • Breach of fiduciary duty
  • Collection of premium taxes
  • Consumer protection
  • Derivative suits
  • Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA)
  • Financial regulation and litigation
  • Insurance practices
  • Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act (RICO)
  • Servicing of annuity products
  • Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act (RESPA)
  • Truth in Lending Act (TILA)
  • After-market parts

Related Industries & Practices

Experience

Insights & Resources
People
Drew H. Campbell Drew H. Campbell Partner
Drew H. Campbell Partner
Columbus
614.227.2319
dcampbell@bricker.com
Christopher M. Ernst Christopher M. Ernst Partner
Christopher M. Ernst Partner
Cleveland
216.523.5472
cernst@bricker.com
Daniel C. Gibson Daniel C. Gibson Partner
Daniel C. Gibson Partner
Columbus
614.227.2324
dgibson@bricker.com
Ali I. Haque Ali I. Haque Associate
Ali I. Haque Associate
Columbus
614.227.2359
ahaque@bricker.com
Kara H. Herrnstein Kara H. Herrnstein Associate
Kara H. Herrnstein Associate
Columbus
614.227.4908
kherrnstein@bricker.com
Gregory J. Krabacher Gregory J. Krabacher Partner
Gregory J. Krabacher Partner
Columbus
614.227.2369
gkrabacher@bricker.com
Quintin F. Lindsmith Quintin F. Lindsmith Partner
Quintin F. Lindsmith Partner
Columbus
614.227.8802
qlindsmith@bricker.com
Richard S. Lovering Richard S. Lovering Partner
Richard S. Lovering Partner
Columbus
614.227.2307
rlovering@bricker.com
James P. Schuck James P. Schuck Of Counsel
James P. Schuck Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.8839
jschuck@bricker.com
Anne Marie Sferra Anne Marie Sferra Partner
Anne Marie Sferra Partner
Columbus
614.227.2394
asferra@bricker.com
Sommer L. Sheely Sommer L. Sheely Partner
Sommer L. Sheely Partner
Columbus
614.227.8870
ssheely@bricker.com
S. Courter Shimeall S. Courter Shimeall Associate
S. Courter Shimeall Associate
Columbus
614.227.7723
sshimeall@bricker.com