Industries & Practices

Colleges & Universities

We give administrators the legal tools they need to build and sustain thriving campuses. 

Overview

Our skilled team of lawyers effectively manages both common and unique legal challenges today’s colleges and universities face. For decades, we’ve built lasting partnerships with numerous higher education clients, providing solutions that allow them to focus on their educational missions.

Institutional governance, nonprofit exempt status, educational services, Title IX, and campus preservation and expansion are just a few of the matters our attorneys frequently address.

Types of clients we represent:

  • State universities
  • Independent colleges and universities
  • Community colleges
  • Non-traditional education providers
  • Career/technical schools

Related Industries & Practices

Areas of Focus

We partner with higher education administrators to help them understand and comply federal and state laws related to civil rights, disabilities, collective bargaining, campus safety and more. Our attorneys frequently handle statutory and constitutional issues, such as access to student records, student discipline, student civil rights and discrimination. We also assist with accreditation disputes, governance issues and other concerns unique to institutions of higher education.

Title IX & Sexual Misconduct

Due to the Department of Education’s recent spotlight on the Clery Act pursuant to the Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) and Title IX, we help administrators protect their employees and students in the areas of sexual harassment, pregnancy discrimination, athletic discrimination and more. Our team is experienced in Title IX and sexual misconduct proceedings, and we work with educational institutions to prevent violations and handle these cases effectively. Visit our Title IX Resource Center >>

From providing guidance on executive and faculty compensation to assisting with union negotiations, our employment attorneys collaborate with our education team to build proactive plans and creative solutions for administrators. 

We work with higher education leaders to provide viable options for their institution’s development. For many years, we have served as bond counsel in numerous higher education financings for large public universities, private colleges and universities, and community colleges. Our experience specifically includes tax-exempt bond financings, taxable financings for private-use facilities, post-issuance compliance, bank financing and construction loans.

We represent public and private higher education institutions on all aspects of construction projects — from the preparation of contract documents through litigation, when necessary. Our experience includes multiple prime contractor, general contractor, construction manager at risk and design-build delivery models that are now available to public as well as private institutions. 

Whether the solution is an aggressive motion practice, mediation, arbitration or trial by jury, our goal is to deliver results while preserving resources and protecting the relationships that help institutions succeed. Some of the common areas in which we practice include discrimination, harassment, date-rape, wrongful expulsion, toxic mold liability and ERISA. 

We understand the pressure for colleges and universities to preserve, expand and modernize their campus facilities. Our real estate team assists educational clients in obtaining bank financing and construction loans, acquiring real estate, zoning variances and conservation easements, and handling eminent domain and appropriation actions. 

Our attorneys work with institutions to protect trademark, copyright, internet, domain name, unfair competition, joint venture and corporate intellectual property rights. We also help institutions acquire and license proprietary assets and technology. 

Our team of lawyer-lobbyists frequently advocate legal changes on behalf of higher education institutions. We constantly monitor legislative activity for issues impacting higher ed and help our college and university clients take advantage of legislative and regulatory opportunities. 

Experience

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Insights & Resources
Resource Center

A collection of documentation related to Title IX issues on college campuses and education environments. For more information, please visit our Title IX Resource Center.

People
Laura G. Anthony Laura G. Anthony Partner
Laura G. Anthony Partner
Columbus
614.227.2366
lanthony@bricker.com
Maria J. Armstrong Maria J. Armstrong Partner
Maria J. Armstrong Partner
Columbus
614.227.8821
marmstrong@bricker.com
Federico G. Barrera III Federico G. Barrera III Associate
Federico G. Barrera III Associate
Cleveland
216.523.5476
fbarrera@bricker.com
Melissa M. Bondy Melissa M. Bondy Senior Attorney
Melissa M. Bondy Senior Attorney
Columbus
614.227.8875
mbondy@bricker.com
Kimball H. Carey Kimball H. Carey Of Counsel
Kimball H. Carey Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.4891
kcarey@bricker.com
Melissa M. Carleton Melissa M. Carleton Of Counsel
Melissa M. Carleton Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.4846
mcarleton@bricker.com
William T. Conard II William T. Conard II Partner
William T. Conard II Partner
Columbus
614.227.2351
wconard@bricker.com
Kate V. Davis Kate V. Davis Senior Attorney
Kate V. Davis Senior Attorney
Dayton
937.535.3902
kdavis@bricker.com
Nicole M. Donovsky Nicole M. Donovsky Of Counsel
Nicole M. Donovsky Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.4866
ndonovsky@bricker.com
Dane A. Gaschen Dane A. Gaschen Partner
Dane A. Gaschen Partner
Columbus
614.227.8887
dgaschen@bricker.com
Lauren N. Gresh Lauren N. Gresh Of Counsel
Lauren N. Gresh Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.4827
lgresh@bricker.com
Warren I. Grody Warren I. Grody Senior Attorney
Warren I. Grody Senior Attorney
Columbus
614.227.2332
wgrody@bricker.com
Rachel King Rachel King Of Counsel
Rachel King Of Counsel
Cleveland
216.523.5471
rsking@bricker.com
David J. Lampe David J. Lampe Partner
David J. Lampe Partner
Cincinnati
513.870.6561
dlampe@bricker.com
Sean R. Lehman Sean R. Lehman Associate
Sean R. Lehman Associate
Columbus
614.227.7712
slehman@bricker.com
Richard S. Lovering Richard S. Lovering Partner
Richard S. Lovering Partner
Columbus
614.227.2307
rlovering@bricker.com
Robert F. McCarthy Robert F. McCarthy Partner
Robert F. McCarthy Partner
Columbus
614.227.2308
rmccarthy@bricker.com
Beverly A. Meyer Beverly A. Meyer Of Counsel
Beverly A. Meyer Of Counsel
Dayton
937.224.1849
bmeyer@bricker.com
Joshua D. Nolan Joshua D. Nolan Of Counsel
Joshua D. Nolan Of Counsel
Cleveland
216.523.5485
jnolan@bricker.com
Susan L. Oppenheimer Susan L. Oppenheimer Senior Attorney
Susan L. Oppenheimer Senior Attorney
Columbus
614.227.8822
soppenheimer@bricker.com
Karen "Katy" W. Osborn Karen "Katy" W. Osborn Of Counsel
Karen "Katy" W. Osborn Of Counsel
Dayton
937.535.3905
kosborn@bricker.com
James G. Petrie James G. Petrie Partner
James G. Petrie Partner
Columbus
614.227.2373
jpetrie@bricker.com
Richard W. Ross Richard W. Ross Of Counsel
Richard W. Ross Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.4873
rross@bricker.com
In The Headlines
Twitter

@BrickerHigherEd Tweets