Industries & Practices

Creditors' Rights & Bankruptcy

Whether working with a company in need of restructuring or the creditor of a troubled business, our team solves problems quickly and cost-effectively.

Overview

We regularly represent borrowers and lenders in all types of debt restructures and workouts and use refined negotiation skills and vast transactional knowledge to design customized solutions. When needed, our attorneys rely on their strong trial experience to acquire favorable litigation outcomes.

Related Industries & Practices

Areas of Focus
Commercial Foreclosure & Collections

From foreclosure, receivership, enforcement of guarantees, debt collection, execution, and defense of borrower and guarantor claims, we represent creditors in all phases of state court foreclosure proceedings to ensure their interests are fully protected. 

Receivership

Our litigators represent both lenders and receivers in state court receiverships. They use their experience with Ohio’s receivership statute to structure effective remedies, secure collateral, collect rents, manage income-producing properties and operate businesses as a going concern. Our attorneys also develop effective receiver sale procedures to maximize the value of unique collateral.  

We represent a variety of clients — from insurance companies to equipment lessors — in bankruptcy courts throughout Ohio and across the country. Partnering frequently with lawyers from our commercial litigation practice area, our bankruptcy litigators defend and prosecute claims brought in bankruptcy contested matters and adversary proceedings. We provide clients with all defenses and procedural safeguards available to them regardless of the forum in which the claim or matter arises. 

Complex federal and state law issues often arise in the context of consumer financing and residential mortgage lending and foreclosure. Our attorneys partner with banking interests to minimize problems, devise strategies and change policies, protecting lenders and services against a broad variety of claims.

Commercial Loan Workout

We understand that it is often more advantageous and cost effective to pursue out-of-court workouts and settlements as opposed to foreclosure or litigation. Our attorneys frequently represent both borrowers and lenders seeking to restructure troubled credits, negotiating and documenting forbearance, collateral surrender, liquidation, lien subordination and payment subordination transactions, as well as loan agreement amendments and covenant waiver matters.

We work extensively with both landlords and tenants in simple and complex lease contexts, especially when the terms of a lease are not satisfied. From tenant defaults and lease-related disputes and claims to critical notices and required correspondence, we carry out the necessary proceedings to fairly and legally ensure lease agreements are either fulfilled or terminated.

Experience

Insights & Resources
People
Amy S. Bartemes Amy S. Bartemes Partner
Amy S. Bartemes Partner
Columbus
614.227.2379
abartemes@bricker.com
Drew H. Campbell Drew H. Campbell Partner
Drew H. Campbell Partner
Columbus
614.227.2319
dcampbell@bricker.com
Robert T. Castor Robert T. Castor Partner
Robert T. Castor Partner
Columbus
614.227.4871
rcastor@bricker.com
David K. Conrad David K. Conrad Partner
David K. Conrad Partner
Columbus
614.227.2304
dconrad@bricker.com
Christopher J. Dusseau Christopher J. Dusseau Partner
Christopher J. Dusseau Partner
Columbus
614.227.8889
cdusseau@bricker.com
Daniel C. Gibson Daniel C. Gibson Partner
Daniel C. Gibson Partner
Columbus
614.227.2324
dgibson@bricker.com
Stephen Intihar Stephen Intihar Partner
Stephen Intihar Partner
Columbus
614.227.2376
sintihar@bricker.com
Gordon W. Johnston Gordon W. Johnston Of Counsel
Gordon W. Johnston Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2381
gjohnston@bricker.com
Quintin F. Lindsmith Quintin F. Lindsmith Partner
Quintin F. Lindsmith Partner
Columbus
614.227.8802
qlindsmith@bricker.com
William D. Mason William D. Mason Partner
William D. Mason Partner
Cleveland
216.523.5468
wmason@bricker.com
Jeffrey P. McSherry Jeffrey P. McSherry Partner
Jeffrey P. McSherry Partner
Cincinnati
513.870.6686
jmcsherry@bricker.com
Noorjahan Rahman Noorjahan Rahman Associate
Noorjahan Rahman Associate
Columbus
614.227.6066
nrahman@bricker.com
Nelson M. Reid Nelson M. Reid Partner
Nelson M. Reid Partner
Columbus
614.227.8812
nreid@bricker.com
Justin Ristau Justin Ristau Partner
Justin Ristau Partner
Columbus
614.227.4857
jristau@bricker.com
David K. Stein David K. Stein Partner
David K. Stein Partner
Columbus
614.227.7740
dstein@bricker.com
In The Headlines