Industries & Practices

Economic Development

We establish a collaborative environment among Ohio communities and private commerce to foster job creation and quality growth.

Overview

Using the economic development tools that best suit our clients’ goals, we structure projects and layer programs, connecting government entities and private developers with available financial resources. Our team assists both public and private sector entities, offering cutting-edge financial, regulatory and other consultative solutions.

We provide economic development counsel in these areas:

  • Creative application of public and private financing
  • Regulatory compliance
  • Site selection support
  • State and local permitting
  • Tax incentives, loan and grant programs
  • Zoning

Specific projects include:

  • Creating tax increment financing and special assessment districts
  • Facilitating cooperative development arrangements among political subdivisions and public-private partnerships
  • Establishing and working with communities and businesses to leverage community improvement corporations, community reinvestment areas, enterprise zones, joint economic development districts, new community authorities and port authorities

Related Industries & Practices

Areas of Focus

We assist state and local governments with infrastructure finance and negotiations with developers and business owners. The ultimate goal is creating and retaining jobs, supporting innovation, and stabilizing and improving property values. 

We assist companies in navigating the tax implications that affect their operations. Sales and use taxes, the commercial activity tax (CAT) and the pass-through entity tax, including best practices for compliance, are just a few of the tax matters on which we focus.

Private Sector – Developers

Collaborating with our firm’s national real estate practice, we work closely with developers. As a strategic partner, we identify options to close gaps in the capital stack in order to facilitate important development and redevelopment projects.

Private Sector – Business Owners

Supporting entrepreneurial growth, we work with companies to identify and negotiate federal, state and local incentives. We use our comprehensive knowledge of available programs to help businesses both grow and retain jobs – and improve their bottom lines.

Economic Development Compliance

Our attorneys guide incentive recipients from start to finish. We begin with negotiation of award requirements, and partner with incentive recipients until all award requirements have been satisfied. For businesses with existing awards, we provide advice regarding outstanding requirements, either in connection with ongoing reporting obligations or in response to any investigation or enforcement actions by the award provider.

Experience

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Insights & Resources
Resource Center

Collaborating with government entities and private developers to build and implement creative strategies that promote investment, create jobs and enhance communities. For more information, please visit our DevelopOhio Resource Center.

People
John Caleb Bell John Caleb Bell Partner
John Caleb Bell Partner
Columbus
614.227.2384
jbell@bricker.com
Price D. Finley Price D. Finley Partner
Price D. Finley Partner
Columbus
614.227.8897
pfinley@bricker.com
Nicolaus A. Gordon Nicolaus A. Gordon Associate
Nicolaus A. Gordon Associate
Columbus
614.227.4843
ngordon@bricker.com
Katie E. Johnson Katie E. Johnson Partner
Katie E. Johnson Partner
Columbus
614.227.2349
kejohnson@bricker.com
Colin J. Kalvas Colin J. Kalvas Associate
Colin J. Kalvas Associate
Columbus
614.227.4998
ckalvas@bricker.com
Michael Katz Michael Katz Associate
Michael Katz Associate
Columbus
614.227.4845
mkatz@bricker.com
Gregory J. Lestini Gregory J. Lestini Partner
Gregory J. Lestini Partner
Columbus
614.227.4893
glestini@bricker.com
Jacquelin R. Lewis Jacquelin R. Lewis Associate
Jacquelin R. Lewis Associate
Columbus
614.227.7735
jlewis@bricker.com
Carlos G. Maciel Carlos G. Maciel Public Finance Analyst
Carlos G. Maciel Public Finance Analyst
Columbus
614.227.2335
cmaciel@bricker.com
M. Shannon Martin M. Shannon Martin Partner
M. Shannon Martin Partner
Dayton
937.224.1841
smartin@bricker.com
William D. Mason William D. Mason Partner
William D. Mason Partner
Cleveland
216.523.5468
wmason@bricker.com
Robert F. McCarthy Robert F. McCarthy Partner
Robert F. McCarthy Partner
Columbus
614.227.2308
rmccarthy@bricker.com
Sarah E. O’Dea Sarah E. O’Dea Senior Counsel
Sarah E. O’Dea Senior Counsel
Columbus
614.227.6046
sodea@bricker.com
Christiane W. Schmenk Christiane W. Schmenk Of Counsel
Christiane W. Schmenk Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2323
cschmenk@bricker.com
Jason Tiemeier Jason Tiemeier Associate
Jason Tiemeier Associate
Columbus
614.227.6067
jtiemeier@bricker.com
In The Headlines
Twitter

@DevelopOhio Tweets