Industries & Practices

Education Law

We are a reliable and cost-effective resource for education leaders. 

Overview

As the single largest legal group in Ohio dedicated specifically to education, our attorneys represent a wide range of educational entities, including well over 200 public school districts and numerous educational service centers across the state. We work with administrators to put proactive plans in place and, when needed, address any student, employee and community issues that may occur.

Types of clients we represent:

  • Pre-K to 12 schools
  • Career/technical schools
  • Colleges and universities
  • Community schools
  • Education service centers
  • Information technology centers

Related Industries & Practices

Areas of Focus
Student Rights & Responsibilities

We advise educators on social, technological and legal student issues. These include student suspension/expulsion, student policies and handbooks, bullying, transportation, open enrollment, student privacy, discrimination, religious speech/activities, school fees and extracurricular activities, to name a few. Our attorneys also practice in every aspect of special education and disability law.

Personnel & Employment

Our attorneys advise administrators on public employment law relating to contracts, nonrenewal/suspension/termination, licensure, misconduct, compensation, benefits, retirement, workers' compensation claims and more. We vigorously defend employers in all phases of employment discrimination claims. We also have extensive skill in collective bargaining matters and have helped hundreds of public sector entities conclude contract negotiations positively, cooperatively and efficiently.

Board Governance

Ensuring compliance with sunshine laws and ethics laws, we help board members, administrators, and other employees of public entities maintain the trust of their public constituents. We also counsel clients regularly on resolutions, policy language and ethical compliance and provide training to prevent problems before they arise.

Finance & Facilities

We adopt a collaborative approach to protect school funding and solve a school finance issues, including tax levy planning, the protection of assessed property valuation, and tax abatement and exemption. Many members of our team had first-hand involvement in DeRolph vs. State, earning a deep understanding of taxation and school funding. Likewise, we help schools acquire or dispose of real estate and personal property, as well as finance and construct new school facilities.

Innovative Options

We advise school districts that may wish to pursue alternative educational delivery options to meet the needs of their communities. Options include creating community (charter) schools or STEM schools, entering into collaborative agreements with other entities or implementing other innovative programs. 

Civil Rights

To protect individuals from discrimination or harassment on the basis of age, sex, race or disability, we help our school clients create and maintain policies and procedures that address allegations quickly and effectively. When a dispute does arise, we represent schools before the Office for Civil Rights, the Ohio Civil Rights Commission, the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, and in court in cases involving civil rights laws such as Title IX, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act, the Americans with Disabilities Act, Title VII, and other state and federal laws.

Title IX & Sexual Misconduct

The U.S. Department of Education’s spotlight on Title IX and the Clery Act pursuant to the Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) makes this a quickly evolving area of law. We help colleges and universities understand these requirements, put proactive measures in place, and address allegations quickly and effectively by applying experience-based guidance to real-life, rapidly changing situations. We also investigate and develop an appropriate institutional response to high-profile, highly sensitive allegations. Visit our Title IX Resource Center >>

We represent state universities, independent colleges and universities, community colleges, and non-traditional education providers. Our higher education attorneys provide guidance in the areas of institutional governance obligations, student rights, employee rights, tax exemption, real estate and construction, environmental sustainability, government advocacy, intellectual property protection and courtroom representation. 

Experience

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
Insights & Resources
Resource Centers

This landmark case, which took place from 1991 to 2003, plays a critical role in the way schools are funded. Because Bricker & Eckler represented the plaintiff's in this case, a detailed timeline and related information is available, describing this important decision. For more information, please visit our DeRolph v. State of Ohio Resource Center.

A collection of documentation related to Title IX issues on college campuses and education environments. For more information, please visit our Title IX Resource Center.

Upcoming Events
OCT
30
Seminars

When: Tuesday, October 30, 2018 at 9:00 AM to 12:00 PM

Where: Southwest Ohio Educational Purchasing Council (EPC)

Who: John Caleb Bell, Robert F. McCarthy, Matthew L. Stout, Tess G. Tannehill


People
Laura G. Anthony Laura G. Anthony Partner
Laura G. Anthony Partner
Columbus
614.227.2366
lanthony@bricker.com
Randy Bank Randy Bank Partner
Randy Bank Partner
Columbus
614.227.8836
rbank@bricker.com
Federico G. Barrera III Federico G. Barrera III Associate
Federico G. Barrera III Associate
Cleveland
216.523.5476
fbarrera@bricker.com
Melissa M. Bondy Melissa M. Bondy Senior Attorney
Melissa M. Bondy Senior Attorney
Columbus
614.227.8875
mbondy@bricker.com
Diana S. Brown Diana S. Brown Partner
Diana S. Brown Partner
Columbus
614.227.8823
dbrown@bricker.com
Kimball H. Carey Kimball H. Carey Of Counsel
Kimball H. Carey Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.4891
kcarey@bricker.com
Melissa M. Carleton Melissa M. Carleton Of Counsel
Melissa M. Carleton Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.4846
mcarleton@bricker.com
Janet K. Cooper Janet K. Cooper Of Counsel
Janet K. Cooper Of Counsel
Dayton
937.224.1799
jcooper@bricker.com
Kate V. Davis Kate V. Davis Senior Attorney
Kate V. Davis Senior Attorney
Dayton
937.535.3902
kdavis@bricker.com
Nicole M. Donovsky Nicole M. Donovsky Of Counsel
Nicole M. Donovsky Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.4866
ndonovsky@bricker.com
Jennifer A. Flint Jennifer A. Flint Senior Attorney
Jennifer A. Flint Senior Attorney
Columbus
614.227.2316
jflint@bricker.com
Dane A. Gaschen Dane A. Gaschen Partner
Dane A. Gaschen Partner
Columbus
614.227.8887
dgaschen@bricker.com
Susan E. Geary Susan E. Geary Of Counsel
Susan E. Geary Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2330
sgeary@bricker.com
Susan B. Greenberger Susan B. Greenberger Of Counsel
Susan B. Greenberger Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.8848
sgreenberger@bricker.com
Warren I. Grody Warren I. Grody Senior Attorney
Warren I. Grody Senior Attorney
Columbus
614.227.2332
wgrody@bricker.com
Rachel King Rachel King Of Counsel
Rachel King Of Counsel
Cleveland
216.523.5471
rsking@bricker.com
Megan Savage Knox Megan Savage Knox Staff Attorney
Megan Savage Knox Staff Attorney
Columbus
614.227.8885
mknox@bricker.com
David J. Lampe David J. Lampe Partner
David J. Lampe Partner
Cincinnati
513.870.6561
dlampe@bricker.com
Beverly A. Meyer Beverly A. Meyer Of Counsel
Beverly A. Meyer Of Counsel
Dayton
937.224.1849
bmeyer@bricker.com
Joshua D. Nolan Joshua D. Nolan Of Counsel
Joshua D. Nolan Of Counsel
Cleveland
216.523.5485
jnolan@bricker.com
Susan L. Oppenheimer Susan L. Oppenheimer Senior Attorney
Susan L. Oppenheimer Senior Attorney
Columbus
614.227.8822
soppenheimer@bricker.com
Karen "Katy" W. Osborn Karen "Katy" W. Osborn Of Counsel
Karen "Katy" W. Osborn Of Counsel
Dayton
937.535.3905
kosborn@bricker.com
Nicholas A. Pittner Nicholas A. Pittner Of Counsel
Nicholas A. Pittner Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.8815
npittner@bricker.com
Richard W. Ross Richard W. Ross Of Counsel
Richard W. Ross Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.4873
rross@bricker.com
Jason R. Stuckey Jason R. Stuckey Associate
Jason R. Stuckey Associate
Cincinnati
513.870.6687
jstuckey@bricker.com
Tess G. Tannehill Tess G. Tannehill Associate
Tess G. Tannehill Associate
Columbus
614.227.2347
ttannehill@bricker.com
Sue W. Yount Sue W. Yount Partner
Sue W. Yount Partner
Columbus
614.227.2336
syount@bricker.com
In The Headlines
Twitter

@BrickerEdLaw Tweets


Products
Special Education Training Videos

The Bricker & Eckler Education Law team brings special education issues to life through informative, entertaining and memorable training videos. Each video depicts a special education team meeting involving challenging legal issues and common compliance blunders. Through the expert leadership of the district representative and the narrator comments, the videos illustrate effective — and not so effective — techniques and provide practical tips and guidance on how to avoid common legal mistakes.