Industries & Practices

Election Law & Campaign Finance

We help clients effectively participate in the political process.

Overview

Understanding election-related requirements is crucial, and failure to abide by the laws can be costly. Our attorneys are up to date with all aspects of campaign finance and election laws at the local, state and federal level.  From suggesting best practices to preparing and filing reports, we work with candidates, issue campaigns, parties, political action committees (PACs) and corporations to ensure they comply with the requirements.

Our attorneys have experience in the following, especially in Ohio:

  • Monitoring corporate involvement in political activity
  • Advising on political contribution limits, fundraising methods, and in-kind and independent expenditures
  • Interpreting registration, reporting, disclaimer and advertising requirements and prohibitions
  • Developing legal strategies for the promotion or defeat of issue ballots
  • Advising candidates for political office and state, local and national political parties and caucuses
  • Representing PACs, candidates and political parties before the Ohio Elections Commission (OEC) and the Federal Election Commission (FEC)
  • Preparing and soliciting requests for public and private advisory opinions regarding state and federal election laws
  • Ensuring pay-to-play compliance

Related Industries & Practices

Experience

Insights & Resources
Resource Centers

This compilation of information about the Ohio legislature includes general resources and overviews of pending and enacted legislation related to the education, energy and environment, public sector, health care and insurance industries. For more information, please visit our 132nd General Assembly 2017-18 Resource Center.

This online resource contains up-to-date information on the Ohio budget for fiscal years 2018 and 2019 as it moves through the Ohio General Assembly. Information on the previous two budget cycles is also available. For more information, please visit our State of Ohio Budget Resource Center.

Other Resources
People
Maria J. Armstrong Maria J. Armstrong Partner
Maria J. Armstrong Partner
Columbus
614.227.8821
marmstrong@bricker.com
Amanda M. Grandjean Amanda M. Grandjean Associate
Amanda M. Grandjean Associate
Columbus
614.227.6062
agrandjean@bricker.com
Matthew R. Koppitch Matthew R. Koppitch Associate
Matthew R. Koppitch Associate
Columbus
614.227.8824
mkoppitch@bricker.com
Gregory J. Lestini Gregory J. Lestini Partner
Gregory J. Lestini Partner
Columbus
614.227.4893
glestini@bricker.com
William D. Mason William D. Mason Partner
William D. Mason Partner
Cleveland
216.523.5468
wmason@bricker.com
Christiane W. Schmenk Christiane W. Schmenk Of Counsel
Christiane W. Schmenk Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2323
cschmenk@bricker.com
Christopher N. Slagle Christopher N. Slagle Partner
Christopher N. Slagle Partner
Columbus
614.227.8826
cslagle@bricker.com
Elisabeth A. Squeglia Elisabeth A. Squeglia Partner
Elisabeth A. Squeglia Partner
Columbus
614.227.2396
esqueglia@bricker.com
In The Headlines
Twitter

@BrickerGovtLaw Tweets