Industries & Practices

Employment & Labor

We help employers of all sizes and industries in the ever-changing area of employment law.

Overview

Our team of experienced employment and labor attorneys understands that every organization’s culture, operations and profitability depend on human resources best practices. From compliance audits to performance management, non-compete enforcement, leave and accommodation management, employment litigation and labor arbitrations, we routinely assist clients in a wide range of labor and employment matters. By educating the employers with which we work, anticipating complications and assisting with preventative measures, we help employers maintain a flexible and compliant employment operation to avoid lawsuits and the costly civil penalties that come from noncompliance.

Types of clients we represent:

  • Banks and financial institutions
  • Colleges and universities
  • Employee benefit plans
  • Hospitals, health systems and health care providers
  • Insurance companies
  • Manufacturers
  • Nonprofit organizations and trade associations
  • Retail and wholesale businesses
  • The food service industry
  • School districts
  • Municipalities and other government entities
  • Transportation and logistics
  • Utilities
  • Information technology service providers
  • Professional services firms

Related Industries & Practices

Areas of Focus

Representing more than 100 public and private qualified plans, we advise employers who sponsor tax-qualified pension and retirement plans. Our attorneys are involved with the design, qualification and administration of numerous tax-qualified plans with special skill in large, complex pension arrangements. 

We represent both state-funded and self-insured employers before Ohio's workers' compensation system and before Ohio's courts, helping employers control these significant claim costs. Additionally, we counsel employers in more complex matters such as Violations of Specific Safety Requirements (VSSR), premium impacts, OSHA compliance, BWC audits and start-up/wind-down procedures.

Employment Counseling

One of our most important roles is to be a counselor and advisor to clients. Clients trust our non-judgmental opinions and our ability to provide them with sound advice about how to handle often delicate matters. To avoid or limit exposure to employment-related lawsuits, our attorneys regularly and proactively counsel management and educate supervisors. This counseling is valuable in avoiding costly litigation and workplace morale issues.

When litigation is inevitable, our attorneys vigorously defend employers in all phases of employment claims. Specific issues include discrimination and harassment, non-competes and others, such as OSHA, workers’ compensation and contractual terminations. Our team advises clients through agency investigations, perceived regulation violations, and other types of claims in state and federal law employment claims brought before administrative agencies or in courts.

Executive Compensation

We routinely work with clients to design and implement executive compensation programs and to help boards and committees understand their responsibilities under state corporation law, federal tax laws and federal securities laws. 

Labor Relations & Collective Bargaining

Our employment attorneys understand and regularly provide traditional labor services to management. We work closely with businesses to structure policies and practices designed to maintain a union-free environment.

Management Training

Clients routinely ask us to help train their organizations on various topics, such as avoiding workplace harassment, sound personnel management practices, wage-hour laws, and many other issues that can, if not well understood, result in costly claims. Our hands-on experience and customized training content make learning and understanding perennial and emerging legal issues approachable.

Experience

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Insights & Resources
Upcoming Events
NOV
28
Seminars

When: Wednesday, November 28, 2018 at 7:30 AM to 12:10 PM

Where: Bricker & Eckler LLP

Who: Jill K. Bigler, Justin D. Cook, Lauren N. Gresh, Lisa M. Kathumbi, Marie-Joëlle C. Khouzam, Nicholas W. Lanphear, James G. Petrie, Sue A. Roudebush


Other Resources
People
Laura G. Anthony Laura G. Anthony Partner
Laura G. Anthony Partner
Columbus
614.227.2366
lanthony@bricker.com
Jill K. Bigler Jill K. Bigler Associate
Jill K. Bigler Associate
Columbus
614.227.2312
jbigler@bricker.com
Justin D. Cook Justin D. Cook Associate
Justin D. Cook Associate
Columbus
614.227.4836
jdcook@bricker.com
Janet K. Cooper Janet K. Cooper Of Counsel
Janet K. Cooper Of Counsel
Dayton
937.224.1799
jcooper@bricker.com
Dane A. Gaschen Dane A. Gaschen Partner
Dane A. Gaschen Partner
Columbus
614.227.8887
dgaschen@bricker.com
Katherine Spies Giumenti Katherine Spies Giumenti Partner
Katherine Spies Giumenti Partner
Columbus
614.227.8825
kgiumenti@bricker.com
Lauren N. Gresh Lauren N. Gresh Of Counsel
Lauren N. Gresh Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.4827
lgresh@bricker.com
Lisa M. Kathumbi Lisa M. Kathumbi Partner
Lisa M. Kathumbi Partner
Columbus
614.227.8811
lkathumbi@bricker.com
Marie-Joëlle C. Khouzam Marie-Joëlle C. Khouzam Partner
Marie-Joëlle C. Khouzam Partner
Columbus
614.227.2311
jkhouzam@bricker.com
David J. Lampe David J. Lampe Partner
David J. Lampe Partner
Cincinnati
513.870.6561
dlampe@bricker.com
Nicholas W. Lanphear Nicholas W. Lanphear Associate
Nicholas W. Lanphear Associate
Columbus
614.227.2306
nlanphear@bricker.com
Beverly A. Meyer Beverly A. Meyer Of Counsel
Beverly A. Meyer Of Counsel
Dayton
937.224.1849
bmeyer@bricker.com
Susan L. Oppenheimer Susan L. Oppenheimer Senior Attorney
Susan L. Oppenheimer Senior Attorney
Columbus
614.227.8822
soppenheimer@bricker.com
Karen "Katy" W. Osborn Karen "Katy" W. Osborn Of Counsel
Karen "Katy" W. Osborn Of Counsel
Dayton
937.535.3905
kosborn@bricker.com
James G. Petrie James G. Petrie Partner
James G. Petrie Partner
Columbus
614.227.2373
jpetrie@bricker.com
Sue A. Roudebush Sue A. Roudebush Of Counsel
Sue A. Roudebush Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.7744
sroudebush@bricker.com
Leonard Schoponhove Leonard Schoponhove Associate
Leonard Schoponhove Associate
Columbus
614.227.7737
lschoponhove@bricker.com
Jason R. Stuckey Jason R. Stuckey Associate
Jason R. Stuckey Associate
Cincinnati
513.870.6687
jstuckey@bricker.com
Sue W. Yount Sue W. Yount Partner
Sue W. Yount Partner
Columbus
614.227.2336
syount@bricker.com
In The Headlines