Industries & Practices

Energy

We enhance businesses and communities through the strategic management and development of energy-related projects and compliance with environmental regulations.

Overview

We handle energy transactions and regulatory proceedings to help companies achieve their goals.

Our team is at the forefront of the legal and regulatory proceedings that are shaping the future of energy regulation. And our services prominently include representation before state and federal regulatory agencies, such as the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio (PUCO), the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, the Ohio Power Siting Board, the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency and the Ohio Department of Natural Resources

Types of clients we represent:

  • Manufacturers
  • Electric generation project developers
  • Real estate developers
  • Municipalities and government agencies
  • Midstream companies
  • Telecommunications companies
  • Electric and natural gas companies
  • Oil and gas exploration and production companies
  • Trade associations

Today’s energy landscape is rapidly evolving both regionally and globally, exposing tremendous challenges and opportunities for those involved in this industry. Renewable and nonrenewable energy, public and private utilities, and the environment are vital to businesses and communities, and the critical importance of these resources adds legal complexity.

Working from the perspective of both buyers and sellers, Bricker & Eckler has a practice group dedicated specifically to energy law and regularly works through energy marketplace transactions as well as regulatory proceedings to help companies achieve their goals. With a particular focus on energy efficiency and renewable energy sources, we often match manufacturers with next-generation energy applications and work to turn environmental liabilities into assets.

Bricker & Eckler is known to be at the forefront of the regulatory proceedings that are shaping the future of energy regulation. We were intimately involved with the creation of Ohio Senate Bill 221 and the implementation of the directives of SB 221 on behalf of numerous clients.

Our energy services prominently include the representation of clients before state and federal regulatory agencies, such as the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio (PUCO), the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, the Ohio Power Siting Board and the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency. Additionally, our firm has extensive experience in the formation and operation of governmental aggregations as well as trade association aggregations.

Our environmental practice focuses on all aspects of environmental law, both state and federal, including counseling on regulatory compliance and litigation before Ohio’s Environmental Review Appeals Commission (ERAC) and state and federal courts.

Types of clients we represent:

  • Manufacturers
  • Real estate developers
  • Municipalities and government agencies
  • Solid waste companies
  • Telecommunications companies
  • Energy companies

Related Industries & Practices

Areas of Focus

Our attorneys keep up with the nation’s energy infrastructure and work with clients to foresee and resolve regulatory, environmental and enforcement issues that arise during the construction, permitting, operation and maintenance of oil and gas pipelines and drilling operations.

Energy Regulatory

Continuously monitoring the political climate — and in certain cases driving legislation — we represent clients before various state regulatory commissions. Specific services include specialized rule compliance, certification, permitting and siting, reporting compliance, regulatory requirement guidance, policy-making procedures and consumer issues.

Advanced & Renewable Energy

Intimately familiar with the regulatory structure established by Senate Bill 221 and the Ohio Power Siting Board certificate process, our attorneys assist clients in developing renewable energy projects — from financing to negotiation, construction, project development and more. Our team also works on the cutting edge of the transforming energy sector, including energy storage, distributed generation, microgrid, and electric vehicle projects.

Environmental Law

The hallmark of our firm’s environmental law practice is our solid relationships with environmental regulators. We have an established reputation with agencies including the Ohio EPA and the U.S. EPA, government enforcement personnel such as the Ohio Attorney General’s Office and the U.S. Department of Justice, and our colleagues within the Ohio environmental bar.

Southeast Ohio

Bricker’s close proximity to the greater Appalachian Ohio area allows the firm to develop strong and deep relationships with many local attorneys, businesses and organizations. Attorneys in our Marietta and Barnesville offices have unique on-the-ground experience and provide our clients with practical solutions. More information regarding our Southeast Ohio initiatives >>

Experience

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
Insights & Resources
Resource Centers

Collaborating with government entities and private developers to build and implement creative strategies that promote investment, create jobs and enhance communities. For more information, please visit our DevelopOhio Resource Center.

The enormous potential of shale in Ohio and its contiguous states is creating a regional oil and gas “gold rush." This resource center includes a comprehensive array of resources discussing the opportunities, challenges and complexities associated with development of the Utica and Marcellus Shale. For more information, please visit our Shale Resource Center.

People
Elyse H. Akhbari Elyse H. Akhbari Associate
Elyse H. Akhbari Associate
Columbus
614.227.8859
eakhbari@bricker.com
Maria J. Armstrong Maria J. Armstrong Partner
Maria J. Armstrong Partner
Columbus
614.227.8821
marmstrong@bricker.com
Sally W. Bloomfield Sally W. Bloomfield Partner
Sally W. Bloomfield Partner
Columbus
614.227.2368
sbloomfield@bricker.com
Dylan F. Borchers Dylan F. Borchers Associate
Dylan F. Borchers Associate
Columbus
614.227.4914
dborchers@bricker.com
Aaron M. Bruggeman Aaron M. Bruggeman Associate
Aaron M. Bruggeman Associate
Barnesville
740.374.2284
abruggeman@bricker.com
Zachary D. Eddy Zachary D. Eddy Associate
Zachary D. Eddy Associate
Columbus
614.227.7708
zeddy@bricker.com
Jennifer A. Flint Jennifer A. Flint Senior Attorney
Jennifer A. Flint Senior Attorney
Columbus
614.227.2316
jflint@bricker.com
Christopher T. Furey Christopher T. Furey Associate
Christopher T. Furey Associate
Cleveland
216.523.5478
cfurey@bricker.com
Daniel Gerken Daniel Gerken Associate
Daniel Gerken Associate
Columbus
614.227.4869
dgerken@bricker.com
Daniel C. Gibson Daniel C. Gibson Partner
Daniel C. Gibson Partner
Columbus
614.227.2324
dgibson@bricker.com
Craig A. Haddox Craig A. Haddox Partner
Craig A. Haddox Partner
Columbus
614.227.2320
chaddox@bricker.com
Kara H. Herrnstein Kara H. Herrnstein Associate
Kara H. Herrnstein Associate
Columbus
614.227.4908
kherrnstein@bricker.com
E. Nicki Hewell E. Nicki Hewell Associate
E. Nicki Hewell Associate
Columbus
614.227.6063
nhewell@bricker.com
James J. Hughes, III James J. Hughes, III Partner
James J. Hughes, III Partner
Columbus
614.227.2365
jjhughes@bricker.com
Alyson N. Hurley Alyson N. Hurley Staff Attorney
Alyson N. Hurley Staff Attorney
Columbus
614.227.4819
ahurley@bricker.com
Matthew R. Koppitch Matthew R. Koppitch Associate
Matthew R. Koppitch Associate
Columbus
614.227.8824
mkoppitch@bricker.com
Glenn S. Krassen Glenn S. Krassen Partner
Glenn S. Krassen Partner
Cleveland
216.523.5469
gkrassen@bricker.com
Frank L. Merrill Frank L. Merrill Partner
Frank L. Merrill Partner
Columbus
614.227.8871
fmerrill@bricker.com
Christopher M. Nalls Christopher M. Nalls Associate
Christopher M. Nalls Associate
Dayton
937.535.3917
cnalls@bricker.com
Devin D. Parram Devin D. Parram Associate
Devin D. Parram Associate
Columbus
614.227. 8813
dparram@bricker.com
Christine Rideout Schirra Christine Rideout Schirra Associate
Christine Rideout Schirra Associate
Columbus
614.227.8810
cschirra@bricker.com
Doug Shevelow, P.E. Doug Shevelow, P.E. Partner
Doug Shevelow, P.E. Partner
Columbus
614.227.4803
dshevelow@bricker.com
Dane Stinson Dane Stinson Partner
Dane Stinson Partner
Columbus
614.227.4854
dstinson@bricker.com
Craig E. Sweeney Craig E. Sweeney Of Counsel
Craig E. Sweeney Of Counsel
Marietta
740.374.4405
csweeney@bricker.com
Matt Warnock Matt Warnock Partner
Matt Warnock Partner
Columbus
614.227.2388
mwarnock@bricker.com
In The Headlines
Twitter

@DevelopOhio Tweets