Industries & Practices

Health Care Employment & Labor

We help health care employers manage their physicians (and other providers), support staff, administrative personnel and medical staff, as well as comply with applicable labor and employment laws.<

Overview

Our attorneys, with both health care and employment backgrounds, counsel and advise hospitals and other providers on employment-related issues. We also defend hospitals and their managers against claims by employees and former employees of discrimination, harassment, retaliation, breach of contract and other employment-related claims.

Our experience includes:

  • FMLA leave and ADA issues
  • Anti-discrimination, harassment and retaliation issues
  • Employment policies and procedures
  • Investigations
  • Executive compensation issues (409(A))
  • Employment-related tax issues
  • Employee and provider service and employment contracts
  • Separation/severance agreements
  • Layoffs/reductions in force
  • Non-competition/non-solicitation/confidentiality agreements
  • Workers’ compensation and VSSR issues
  • OSHA Issues
  • Immigration issues
  • Union-related issues, including union organizing
  • Retirement and welfare benefits and pension plans (457, 403(b), 401(k) and SERP)

We represent hospitals and their employees before the following forums:

  • State courts
  • Federal courts
  • U.S. Department of Labor (DOL)
  • Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC)
  • National Labor Relations Board (NLRB)
  • Ohio Civil Rights Commission (OCRC)

Related Industries & Practices

Experience

Insights & Resources
People
Jill K. Bigler Jill K. Bigler Associate
Jill K. Bigler Associate
Columbus
614.227.2312
jbigler@bricker.com
Justin D. Cook Justin D. Cook Associate
Justin D. Cook Associate
Columbus
614.227.4836
jdcook@bricker.com
Katherine Spies Giumenti Katherine Spies Giumenti Partner
Katherine Spies Giumenti Partner
Columbus
614.227.8825
kgiumenti@bricker.com
Lauren N. Gresh Lauren N. Gresh Of Counsel
Lauren N. Gresh Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.4827
lgresh@bricker.com
Lisa M. Kathumbi Lisa M. Kathumbi Partner
Lisa M. Kathumbi Partner
Columbus
614.227.8811
lkathumbi@bricker.com
Marie-Joëlle C. Khouzam Marie-Joëlle C. Khouzam Partner
Marie-Joëlle C. Khouzam Partner
Columbus
614.227.2311
jkhouzam@bricker.com
Nicholas W. Lanphear Nicholas W. Lanphear Associate
Nicholas W. Lanphear Associate
Columbus
614.227.2306
nlanphear@bricker.com
James G. Petrie James G. Petrie Partner
James G. Petrie Partner
Columbus
614.227.2373
jpetrie@bricker.com
Sue A. Roudebush Sue A. Roudebush Of Counsel
Sue A. Roudebush Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.7744
sroudebush@bricker.com
Leonard Schoponhove Leonard Schoponhove Associate
Leonard Schoponhove Associate
Columbus
614.227.7737
lschoponhove@bricker.com
In The Headlines