Industries & Practices

Health Care Industry

Empowering health care providers with a comprehensive array of legal strategies to deliver high-quality, effective care.

Overview

The vitality and efficiency of health care has become a major factor in the prosperity of our local, regional and national economy. Providing excellent medical care is not only a complex enterprise, but also an issue of stewardship of their community’s precious health care resources.

In the midst of this growing and complex industry, Bricker & Eckler stands ready to meet the needs of our diverse health care clients. Providing legal services for more than two-thirds of the hospitals in Ohio and representing clients in 35 additional states, we have the largest health care practice in the state and one of the largest in the country. Additionally, many of our attorneys practicing in other areas, such as taxation, employment and labor, insurance, and litigation, spend a substantial amount of time representing health care clients on issues pertaining to their specialization.

But the size of our practice doesn’t tell the whole story. Our attorneys recognize the importance of personalized strategies, whether working with large health systems, community-based hospitals, associations or service providers. We strive to understand the varied needs of organizations with differing internal resources, experiences and challenges. Simply put, our sophisticated grasp of the health care industry’s business, regulatory and policy issues gives our clients the confidence they need to address all facets of today’s evolving health care environment.

Types of clients we represent:

  • Assisted living providers
  • Health care associations
  • Health information exchanges
  • Health care provider networks
  • Health care providers
  • Health care systems
  • Home health agencies
  • Hospitals
  • Long-term care facilities
  • Managed care organizations
  • Multi-hospital groups
  • Nonprofit entities

Related Industries & Practices

Areas of Focus
Health Care Law

Legal and regulatory challenges are a reality for all health care providers today. As a group and as individuals, our health care attorneys are highly regarded by clients and peers. They are known for their knowledge of our clients’ businesses and the unique policy, regulatory and business issues they face. We have significant experience in all aspects of health care law, including certification, accreditation and licensure, fraud and abuse matters, HIPAA compliance, employment issues, Medicare and Medicaid, false claims and more. Visit our Health Care Law practice.

Health Care Employment & Labor

Employees are the lifeblood of a thriving health care facility. In order to maintain a happy and healthy work environment, health care employers must try to minimize employment-related issues and be prepared to handle problems that do arise. From providing guidance on compensation to assisting with union negotiations, our Employment & Labor attorneys collaborate with our Health Care Law team to build proactive plans and creative solutions. Visit our Health Care Employment & Labor page.

Our health care litigation team is uniquely qualified to handle medical negligence and wrongful death claims for hospitals, physicians and other medical providers. Not only do the attorneys at Bricker & Eckler have extensive experience defending medical claims in the courtroom, whether they are conducting a jury trial, arguing to various appellate courts or arguing before the Ohio Supreme Court, but they also have immediate access to the substantive experience of the Health Care group. We are able to provide among the most comprehensive representation of hospitals and medical providers available anywhere in Ohio. For more information, please visit our Health Care Litigation page.

Having represented numerous public and private health care institutions, our attorneys have an in-depth understanding of the unique aspects of health care construction. Bricker has worked with its owner clients on multiple prime contractor, general contractor, construction manager at risk and design-build projects of all types and sizes, and our attorneys understand the benefits and risks associated with each project delivery model. Additionally, Bricker attorneys were actively involved with the development of Ohio's construction reform law, which provides opportunities for public health care clients to use alternative construction delivery models. For more information, please visit our Health Care Construction page.

Government Relations

The attorneys in our Government Relations group frequently help health care clients realize their missions by advocating legal changes on their behalf. We constantly monitor legislative activity for issues impacting health care and help our clients take advantage of legislative and regulatory opportunities. Visit our Government Relations practice.

Real Estate

Health care providers must actively seek to both preserve and expand their facilities and manage the development of surrounding areas. Simultaneously, hospitals and health care providers are under tremendous pressure to modernize and update their facilities. At Bricker & Eckler, we understand these conflicting pressures, and our team of real estate specialists assists our clients to obtain bank financing and construction loans, acquire real estate, zoning variances and conservation easements, and handle eminent domain and appropriation actions. Visit our Real Estate practice.

Project Finance

A hospital or health care system’s success may depend on its ability to obtain funding for capital projects while maintaining financial stewardship of its resources. Bricker attorneys explore all the legal possibilities, giving health care leaders viable options for their facility’s development. Over the years, we have served as bond counsel in numerous health care financings, including tax-exempt bond financings, taxable financings for private-use facilities, post-issuance compliance, bank financing and construction loans. Visit our Public Finance practice.

Intellectual Property

Intellectual property and related technology resources can be a valuable asset to health care providers and an important strategic tool in the marketplace. Our team’s technical background, broad legal and business knowledge and deep experience in evaluating, protecting, enforcing and licensing intellectual property help to safeguard companies while they build a portfolio of intangible resources. Visit our Intellectual Property practice.

Cybersecurity

In an era of data breach, identification theft and cyber threats, having a well-developed cybersecurity strategy is a must-have for any business – especially those in the health care industry. Our intimate knowledge of this evolving area of law allows us to provide practical and cost-effective advice to clients who want to minimize cyber risk. Visit our Cybersecurity practice.

Experience

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
Insights & Resources
Resource Centers

The HIPAA Resource Center provides links to the statutes, regulations and various other HIPAA related resources, as well as our subscription HIPAA Privacy and Security Compliance and Audit Program. For more information, please visit our HIPAA Resource Center.

This resource center sets forth the statutes, regulations and other documentation regarding Medicare and Medicaid fraud and abuse. Information includes the Stark anti-referral requirements and general anti-kickback information. For more information, please visit our Medicare/Medicaid Fraud & Abuse Resource Center.

People
Jerry O. Allen Jerry O. Allen Partner
Jerry O. Allen Partner
Columbus
614.227.8834
jallen@bricker.com
Catherine M. Ballard Catherine M. Ballard Partner
Catherine M. Ballard Partner
Columbus
614.227.8806
cballard@bricker.com
Chris Bennington Chris Bennington Partner
Chris Bennington Partner
Dayton
937.610.4811
cbennington@bricker.com
Jill K. Bigler Jill K. Bigler Associate
Jill K. Bigler Associate
Columbus
614.227.2312
jbigler@bricker.com
Jonathan T. Brollier Jonathan T. Brollier Partner
Jonathan T. Brollier Partner
Columbus
614.227.8805
jbrollier@bricker.com
Drew H. Campbell Drew H. Campbell Partner
Drew H. Campbell Partner
Columbus
614.227.2319
dcampbell@bricker.com
Karen L. Clouse Karen L. Clouse Of Counsel
Karen L. Clouse Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2317
kclouse@bricker.com
William T. Conard II William T. Conard II Partner
William T. Conard II Partner
Columbus
614.227.2351
wconard@bricker.com
Shannon K. DeBra Shannon K. DeBra Of Counsel
Shannon K. DeBra Of Counsel
Cincinnati
513.870.6685
sdebra@bricker.com
Catherine T. Dunlay Catherine T. Dunlay Partner
Catherine T. Dunlay Partner
Cincinnati
513.870.6563
cdunlay@bricker.com
Victoria Flinn McCurdy Victoria Flinn McCurdy Partner
Victoria Flinn McCurdy Partner
Columbus
614.227.2326
vflinnmccurdy@bricker.com
James F. Flynn James F. Flynn Partner
James F. Flynn Partner
Columbus
614.227.8855
jflynn@bricker.com
Joshua M. Gilbert Joshua M. Gilbert Associate
Joshua M. Gilbert Associate
Columbus
614.227.7736
jgilbert@bricker.com
Michael K. Gire Michael K. Gire Partner
Michael K. Gire Partner
Columbus
614.227.2318
mgire@bricker.com
Katherine Spies Giumenti Katherine Spies Giumenti Partner
Katherine Spies Giumenti Partner
Columbus
614.227.8825
kgiumenti@bricker.com
Craig A. Haddox Craig A. Haddox Partner
Craig A. Haddox Partner
Columbus
614.227.2320
chaddox@bricker.com
Kevin M. Hilvert Kevin M. Hilvert Partner
Kevin M. Hilvert Partner
Columbus
614.227.2398
khilvert@bricker.com
James J. Hughes, III James J. Hughes, III Partner
James J. Hughes, III Partner
Columbus
614.227.2365
jjhughes@bricker.com
Addison Hutcheson Addison Hutcheson Associate
Addison Hutcheson Associate
Columbus
614.227.6064
ahutcheson@bricker.com
David M. Johnston David M. Johnston Partner
David M. Johnston Partner
Columbus
614.227.8817
djohnston@bricker.com
Elizabeth A. Kastner Elizabeth A. Kastner Partner
Elizabeth A. Kastner Partner
Columbus
614.227.8852
ekastner@bricker.com
Lisa M. Kathumbi Lisa M. Kathumbi Partner
Lisa M. Kathumbi Partner
Columbus
614.227.8811
lkathumbi@bricker.com
Allen R. Killworth Allen R. Killworth Partner
Allen R. Killworth Partner
Columbus
614.227.2334
akillworth@bricker.com
Stephen R. Kleinman Stephen R. Kleinman Partner
Stephen R. Kleinman Partner
Columbus
614.227.2329
skleinman@bricker.com
Matthew R. Koppitch Matthew R. Koppitch Associate
Matthew R. Koppitch Associate
Columbus
614.227.8824
mkoppitch@bricker.com
Quintin F. Lindsmith Quintin F. Lindsmith Partner
Quintin F. Lindsmith Partner
Columbus
614.227.8802
qlindsmith@bricker.com
Richard S. Lovering Richard S. Lovering Partner
Richard S. Lovering Partner
Columbus
614.227.2307
rlovering@bricker.com
M. Shannon Martin M. Shannon Martin Partner
M. Shannon Martin Partner
Dayton
937.224.1841
smartin@bricker.com
Edward A. Matto Edward A. Matto Partner
Edward A. Matto Partner
Columbus
614.227.2340
ematto@bricker.com
Megan H. McCarthy Megan H. McCarthy Staff Attorney
Megan H. McCarthy Staff Attorney
Columbus
614.227.4830
mmccarthy@bricker.com
Christina J. Miller Christina J. Miller OSBA Certified Paralegal
Christina J. Miller OSBA Certified Paralegal
Columbus
614.227.8809
cmiller@bricker.com
Jeremy R. Morris Jeremy R. Morris Partner
Jeremy R. Morris Partner
Columbus
614.227.2370
jmorris@bricker.com
Jennifer Nelson Carney Jennifer Nelson Carney Partner
Jennifer Nelson Carney Partner
Columbus
614.227.4870
jnelsoncarney@bricker.com
Kimberly S. Parks Kimberly S. Parks Senior Attorney
Kimberly S. Parks Senior Attorney
Columbus
614.227.8801
kparks@bricker.com
James G. Petrie James G. Petrie Partner
James G. Petrie Partner
Columbus
614.227.2373
jpetrie@bricker.com
Jack Rosati, Jr. Jack Rosati, Jr. Partner
Jack Rosati, Jr. Partner
Columbus
614.227.2321
jrosati@bricker.com
Avery Schumacher Avery Schumacher Associate
Avery Schumacher Associate
Columbus
614.227.2309
aschumacher@bricker.com
Diane M. Signoracci Diane M. Signoracci Partner
Diane M. Signoracci Partner
Columbus
614.227.2333
dsignoracci@bricker.com
Karen D. Smith Karen D. Smith Of Counsel
Karen D. Smith Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2313
ksmith@bricker.com
David C. Spialter David C. Spialter Of Counsel
David C. Spialter Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2342
dspialter@bricker.com
Bobbie S. Sprader Bobbie S. Sprader Partner
Bobbie S. Sprader Partner
Columbus
614.227.2315
bsprader@bricker.com
Elisabeth A. Squeglia Elisabeth A. Squeglia Partner
Elisabeth A. Squeglia Partner
Columbus
614.227.2396
esqueglia@bricker.com
Christopher N. Swank Christopher N. Swank Partner
Christopher N. Swank Partner
Columbus
614.227.4895
cswank@bricker.com
Betsy A. Swift Betsy A. Swift Partner
Betsy A. Swift Partner
Columbus
614.227.8850
bswift@bricker.com
Kurtis A. Tunnell Kurtis A. Tunnell Managing Partner
Kurtis A. Tunnell Managing Partner
Columbus
614.227.8837
ktunnell@bricker.com
Claire Turcotte Claire Turcotte Partner
Claire Turcotte Partner
Cincinnati
513.870.6573
cturcotte@bricker.com
Twitter

@BrickerHlthLaw Tweets


Products


HIPAA Compliance and Audit Program

The HIPAA Compliance and Audit Program is a comprehensive on-line program for complying with the HIPAA privacy, security and breach regulations, including the provisions of the HITECH Act and the Omnibus Rules issued in January, 2013.

HIPAA Regulations Section-by-Section

This comprehensive HIPAA resource helps to interpret privacy and security regulations in one convenient location and an easy to review format. Information is updated periodically with amendments to the regulations, as well as new guidance issued by HHS, as they become available.

Provider-Based Compliance Program

The Quality Management Consulting Group (QMCG), in conjunction with Bricker & Eckler, has developed this program to help hospitals identify all areas of provider-based compliance and to give you the tools you need to be and remain in compliance. Through this resource, you are able to put together an attestation to submit to CMS if desired.