Industries & Practices

Health Care Industry

We empower health care providers and organizations to deliver high-quality, effective care.

Overview

Our attorneys provide legal services to more than two-thirds of the hospitals in Ohio and represent clients in 35 additional states, making us the largest health care practice in the state and one of the largest in the country. We know that our clients are looking for tailored strategies and solutions, whether they are large health systems, community-based hospitals, health plans, associations or other service providers. Simply put, our deep understanding of the health care industry’s regulatory, policy and business considerations gives our clients confidence to proactively address their legal needs and succeed in today’s ever-changing health care environment.

Our clients include:

  • Hospitals
  • Assisted living providers
  • Health care associations
  • Health information exchanges
  • Health care providers
  • Health care provider networks
  • Health care systems
  • Home health agencies
  • Long-term care facilities
  • Managed care organizations
  • Multi-hospital groups
  • Nonprofit entities
  • Hospices

Related Industries & Practices

Areas of Focus

Our health care attorneys are known, both individually and collectively, for their knowledge of our clients’ businesses and the unique policy, regulatory and business issues they face. We have extensive experience in all aspects of health care law, including certification, accreditation and licensure, fraud and abuse matters, HIPAA compliance, employment issues, Medicare and Medicaid, and false claims, to name a few.

From providing guidance on employment policies and benefits to defending employers in legal actions, we blend employment knowledge with health care experience to proactively and creatively advise health care employers.

Our health care litigators handle medical negligence, wrongful death and other claims for hospitals, physicians and medical providers. We readily defend medical, business and employment disputes in the courtroom, whether they are conducting a jury trial, arguing to various appellate courts or going before the Ohio Supreme Court.  

Our highly regarded construction attorneys have represented many public and private health care facilities on all aspects of their construction projects — from the preparation of contract documents through litigation, when necessary. Our experience includes multiple prime contractor, general contractor, construction manager at risk and design-build delivery models. 

Our lawyer-lobbyists frequently advocate legal and regulatory changes on behalf of health care organizations. We constantly monitor legislative activity for issues impacting the health care industry and help our clients take advantage of legislative and regulatory opportunities.

We understand the immense pressure for health care organizations to expand, renovate and modernize their facilities. Our attorneys help clients in the health care industry obtain bank financing and construction loans, acquire real estate, zoning variances and conservation easements, and handle eminent domain and appropriation actions.

By exploring all legal possibilities, we give health care leaders viable options for their organization’s development. Specifically, we have served as bond counsel in numerous health care financings, including tax-exempt bond financings, taxable financings for private-use facilities, post-issuance compliance, bank financing and construction loans.

Our team’s technical background, broad legal and business knowledge, and deep experience in evaluating, protecting, enforcing and licensing intellectual property helps health care organizations safeguard their portfolios of intangible resources.

From data breaches to electronic health information (EHI) to HIPAA privacy and security, our intimate knowledge of this evolving area of law allows us to help health care clients minimize cyber risk.

Experience

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
Insights & Resources
Resource Centers

The HIPAA Resource Center provides links to the statutes, regulations and various other HIPAA related resources, as well as our subscription HIPAA Privacy and Security Compliance and Audit Program. For more information, please visit our HIPAA Resource Center.

This resource center sets forth the statutes, regulations and other documentation regarding Medicare and Medicaid fraud and abuse. Information includes the Stark anti-referral requirements and general anti-kickback information. For more information, please visit our Medicare/Medicaid Fraud & Abuse Resource Center.

People
Jerry O. Allen Jerry O. Allen Partner
Jerry O. Allen Partner
Columbus
614.227.8834
jallen@bricker.com
Catherine M. Ballard Catherine M. Ballard Partner
Catherine M. Ballard Partner
Columbus
614.227.8806
cballard@bricker.com
Chris Bennington Chris Bennington Partner
Chris Bennington Partner
Dayton
937.610.4811
cbennington@bricker.com
Jill K. Bigler Jill K. Bigler Associate
Jill K. Bigler Associate
Columbus
614.227.2312
jbigler@bricker.com
Laura J. Bowman Laura J. Bowman Associate
Laura J. Bowman Associate
Columbus
614.227.4842
lbowman@bricker.com
Jonathan T. Brollier Jonathan T. Brollier Partner
Jonathan T. Brollier Partner
Columbus
614.227.8805
jbrollier@bricker.com
Drew H. Campbell Drew H. Campbell Partner
Drew H. Campbell Partner
Columbus
614.227.2319
dcampbell@bricker.com
Karen L. Clouse Karen L. Clouse Of Counsel
Karen L. Clouse Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2317
kclouse@bricker.com
William T. Conard II William T. Conard II Partner
William T. Conard II Partner
Columbus
614.227.2351
wconard@bricker.com
Shannon K. DeBra Shannon K. DeBra Of Counsel
Shannon K. DeBra Of Counsel
Cincinnati
513.870.6685
sdebra@bricker.com
Catherine T. Dunlay Catherine T. Dunlay Partner
Catherine T. Dunlay Partner
Cincinnati
513.870.6563
cdunlay@bricker.com
Victoria Flinn McCurdy Victoria Flinn McCurdy Partner
Victoria Flinn McCurdy Partner
Columbus
614.227.2326
vflinnmccurdy@bricker.com
James F. Flynn James F. Flynn Managing Partner
James F. Flynn Managing Partner
Columbus
614.227.8855
jflynn@bricker.com
Joshua M. Gilbert Joshua M. Gilbert Associate
Joshua M. Gilbert Associate
Columbus
614.227.7736
jgilbert@bricker.com
Michael K. Gire Michael K. Gire Partner
Michael K. Gire Partner
Columbus
614.227.2318
mgire@bricker.com
Katherine Spies Giumenti Katherine Spies Giumenti Partner
Katherine Spies Giumenti Partner
Columbus
614.227.8825
kgiumenti@bricker.com
Craig A. Haddox Craig A. Haddox Partner
Craig A. Haddox Partner
Columbus
614.227.2320
chaddox@bricker.com
Kevin M. Hilvert Kevin M. Hilvert Partner
Kevin M. Hilvert Partner
Columbus
614.227.2398
khilvert@bricker.com
James J. Hughes, III James J. Hughes, III Partner
James J. Hughes, III Partner
Columbus
614.227.2365
jjhughes@bricker.com
Addison Hutcheson Addison Hutcheson Associate
Addison Hutcheson Associate
Columbus
614.227.6064
ahutcheson@bricker.com
David M. Johnston David M. Johnston Partner
David M. Johnston Partner
Columbus
614.227.8817
djohnston@bricker.com
Elizabeth A. Kastner Elizabeth A. Kastner Partner
Elizabeth A. Kastner Partner
Columbus
614.227.8852
ekastner@bricker.com
Lisa M. Kathumbi Lisa M. Kathumbi Partner
Lisa M. Kathumbi Partner
Columbus
614.227.8811
lkathumbi@bricker.com
Allen R. Killworth Allen R. Killworth Partner
Allen R. Killworth Partner
Columbus
614.227.2334
akillworth@bricker.com
Stephen R. Kleinman Stephen R. Kleinman Partner
Stephen R. Kleinman Partner
Columbus
614.227.2329
skleinman@bricker.com
Gregory J. Krabacher Gregory J. Krabacher Partner
Gregory J. Krabacher Partner
Columbus
614.227.2369
gkrabacher@bricker.com
Quintin F. Lindsmith Quintin F. Lindsmith Partner
Quintin F. Lindsmith Partner
Columbus
614.227.8802
qlindsmith@bricker.com
Richard S. Lovering Richard S. Lovering Partner
Richard S. Lovering Partner
Columbus
614.227.2307
rlovering@bricker.com
M. Shannon Martin M. Shannon Martin Partner
M. Shannon Martin Partner
Dayton
937.224.1841
smartin@bricker.com
Megan H. McCarthy Megan H. McCarthy Staff Attorney
Megan H. McCarthy Staff Attorney
Columbus
614.227.4830
mmccarthy@bricker.com
Christina J. Miller Christina J. Miller OSBA Certified Paralegal
Christina J. Miller OSBA Certified Paralegal
Columbus
614.227.8809
cmiller@bricker.com
Jeremy R. Morris Jeremy R. Morris Partner
Jeremy R. Morris Partner
Columbus
614.227.2370
jmorris@bricker.com
Jennifer Nelson Carney Jennifer Nelson Carney Partner
Jennifer Nelson Carney Partner
Columbus
614.227.4870
jnelsoncarney@bricker.com
Kimberly S. Parks Kimberly S. Parks Senior Attorney
Kimberly S. Parks Senior Attorney
Columbus
614.227.8801
kparks@bricker.com
James G. Petrie James G. Petrie Partner
James G. Petrie Partner
Columbus
614.227.2373
jpetrie@bricker.com
Jack Rosati, Jr. Jack Rosati, Jr. Partner
Jack Rosati, Jr. Partner
Columbus
614.227.2321
jrosati@bricker.com
Leonard Schoponhove Leonard Schoponhove Associate
Leonard Schoponhove Associate
Columbus
614.227.7737
lschoponhove@bricker.com
Avery Schumacher Avery Schumacher Associate
Avery Schumacher Associate
Columbus
614.227.2309
aschumacher@bricker.com
Doug Shevelow, P.E. Doug Shevelow, P.E. Partner
Doug Shevelow, P.E. Partner
Columbus
614.227.4803
dshevelow@bricker.com
Diane M. Signoracci Diane M. Signoracci Partner
Diane M. Signoracci Partner
Columbus
614.227.2333
dsignoracci@bricker.com
Karen D. Smith Karen D. Smith Of Counsel
Karen D. Smith Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2313
ksmith@bricker.com
David C. Spialter David C. Spialter Of Counsel
David C. Spialter Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2342
dspialter@bricker.com
Bobbie S. Sprader Bobbie S. Sprader Partner
Bobbie S. Sprader Partner
Columbus
614.227.2315
bsprader@bricker.com
Elisabeth A. Squeglia Elisabeth A. Squeglia Partner
Elisabeth A. Squeglia Partner
Columbus
614.227.2396
esqueglia@bricker.com
Christopher N. Swank Christopher N. Swank Partner
Christopher N. Swank Partner
Columbus
614.227.4895
cswank@bricker.com
Claire Turcotte Claire Turcotte Partner
Claire Turcotte Partner
Cincinnati
513.870.6573
cturcotte@bricker.com
In The Headlines
Twitter

@BrickerHlthLaw Tweets


Products
HIPAA Compliance and Audit Program

The HIPAA Compliance and Audit Program is a comprehensive on-line program for complying with the HIPAA privacy, security and breach regulations, including the provisions of the HITECH Act and the Omnibus Rules issued in January, 2013.

HIPAA Regulations Section-by-Section

This comprehensive HIPAA resource helps to interpret privacy and security regulations in one convenient location and an easy to review format. Information is updated periodically with amendments to the regulations, as well as new guidance issued by HHS, as they become available.

Provider-Based Compliance Program

The Quality Management Consulting Group (QMCG), in conjunction with Bricker & Eckler, has developed this program to help hospitals identify all areas of provider-based compliance and to give you the tools you need to be and remain in compliance. Through this resource, you are able to put together an attestation to submit to CMS if desired.