Industries & Practices

Insurance

Our national practice blends broad insurance knowledge and legal acumen with valuable industry relationships.

Overview

Bricker & Eckler’s representation of insurance companies and trade associations has established the firm as one of the most highly regarded in the industry. Whether navigating the political and regulatory landscape or handling litigation, corporate governance or transactional matters, we leverage understanding of state and federal laws and industry trends to give strategic and trustworthy guidance.

Types of clients we represent:

  • Stock and mutual companies
  • Property and casualty writers
  • Life and annuity companies
  • Supplemental health insurers
  • Specialty “limited lines” insurers
  • Insurance trade associations (national and statewide)

Related Industries & Practices

Areas of Focus

Our lawyer-lobbyists have excellent working relationships with legislators, regulators and insurers in Ohio and throughout the U.S. We have been involved in virtually every major legislative issue relating to the insurance industry in Ohio, helping shape the laws impacting insurers that conduct business in the state.

Our trial team has represented insurance companies in lawsuits throughout more than 25 states. Our experience includes breach of contract and bad faith claims, agent disputes, premium tax class actions, insurance product litigation, financial product litigation, carrier-on-carrier disputes and appeals. On broader industry issues, we’ve filed amicus curiae briefs on behalf of insurers and insurance associations in state and federal court and have represented national broker-dealer firms and associated persons in arbitration proceedings. 

Corporate & Transactional

Insurance clients look to us when making important strategic decisions, including company formation and admission; mergers, acquisitions and affiliations; reorganization; rehabilitation; and liquidation. Whether facing agent licensure and appointment issues, product and rate filings, market conduct examinations and other state regulatory investigations or taxation issues, our attorneys are a valuable resource.

Experience

  • 1
  • 2
Insights & Resources
People
Chris Bennington Chris Bennington Partner
Chris Bennington Partner
Dayton
937.610.4811
cbennington@bricker.com
Drew H. Campbell Drew H. Campbell Partner
Drew H. Campbell Partner
Columbus
614.227.2319
dcampbell@bricker.com
Andrea M. Enderle Andrea M. Enderle Paralegal
Andrea M. Enderle Paralegal
Columbus
614.227.4832
aenderle@bricker.com
Maureen C. Flahive Maureen C. Flahive Associate
Maureen C. Flahive Associate
Columbus
614.227.7710
mflahive@bricker.com
Victoria Flinn McCurdy Victoria Flinn McCurdy Partner
Victoria Flinn McCurdy Partner
Columbus
614.227.2326
vflinnmccurdy@bricker.com
Amanda M. Grandjean Amanda M. Grandjean Associate
Amanda M. Grandjean Associate
Columbus
614.227.6062
agrandjean@bricker.com
Ali I. Haque Ali I. Haque Associate
Ali I. Haque Associate
Columbus
614.227.2359
ahaque@bricker.com
Kara H. Herrnstein Kara H. Herrnstein Associate
Kara H. Herrnstein Associate
Columbus
614.227.4908
kherrnstein@bricker.com
David S. Jackson David S. Jackson Partner
David S. Jackson Partner
Columbus
614.227.4818
djackson@bricker.com
Robert H. Katz Robert H. Katz Of Counsel
Robert H. Katz Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2397
rkatz@bricker.com
Gregory J. Lestini Gregory J. Lestini Partner
Gregory J. Lestini Partner
Columbus
614.227.4893
glestini@bricker.com
Quintin F. Lindsmith Quintin F. Lindsmith Partner
Quintin F. Lindsmith Partner
Columbus
614.227.8802
qlindsmith@bricker.com
Jeffrey P. McSherry Jeffrey P. McSherry Partner
Jeffrey P. McSherry Partner
Cincinnati
513.870.6686
jmcsherry@bricker.com
James G. Petrie James G. Petrie Partner
James G. Petrie Partner
Columbus
614.227.2373
jpetrie@bricker.com
James P. Schuck James P. Schuck Of Counsel
James P. Schuck Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.8839
jschuck@bricker.com
Anne Marie Sferra Anne Marie Sferra Partner
Anne Marie Sferra Partner
Columbus
614.227.2394
asferra@bricker.com
Sommer L. Sheely Sommer L. Sheely Partner
Sommer L. Sheely Partner
Columbus
614.227.8870
ssheely@bricker.com
Elisabeth A. Squeglia Elisabeth A. Squeglia Partner
Elisabeth A. Squeglia Partner
Columbus
614.227.2396
esqueglia@bricker.com
Megan Zemke Megan Zemke Paralegal
Megan Zemke Paralegal
Columbus
614.227.4996
mzemke@bricker.com
In The Headlines