Industries & Practices

Litigation

We are innovative, strategic and efficient, helping clients achieve their litigation objectives.

Overview

When our clients face the uncertainty of litigation, the job of our sizable team of litigators is to understand their business, consider immediate and long-term goals and craft the best possible solution. While we know what it takes to be successful in the courtroom, we also understand that a trial may not always be the best method to resolve a case. Whether the solution is an aggressive motion practice, mediation, arbitration or trial by jury, we are committed to delivering results. 

Related Industries & Practices

Areas of Focus

Bricker & Eckler defends financial institutions of all sizes in a variety of litigation proceedings, including consumer finance litigation, CFPB and other regulatory enforcement actions, bankruptcy proceedings, residential contested foreclosures, class actions and litigation management across multiple jurisdictions. Our clients look to us for strategic and focused counsel when facing federal and state statutory causes of action, as well as common law claims. Recognizing and understanding the interface between consumer financial services litigation and bankruptcy claims, we often collaborate with our bankruptcy attorneys to maximize the defenses and litigation options available to clients.

We maintain a national practice in insurance and financial products litigation. Our trial team works with insurance companies in more than 25 states in matters including agent lawsuits, premium tax class actions, insurance product litigation, financial product litigation, carrier-on-carrier disputes and appeals.

Our health care litigators handle medical negligence, wrongful death and other claims for hospitals, physicians and medical providers. We readily defend medical, business and employment disputes in the courtroom, whether they are conducting a jury trial, arguing to various appellate courts or going before The Ohio Supreme Court.  

Our team excels in oil and gas litigation matters, including eminent domain proceedings, mineral rights ownership disputes, oil and gas lease disputes, coal and pipeline company disputes, nuisance and trespass claims involving water supply or property contamination, and class action litigation matters involving energy companies. Additional experience includes appellate work before Ohio’s intermediate appellate courts and The Ohio Supreme Court.

From contracts and insurance to regulatory investigations and fraud, our attorneys consider every possible method of resolving a business dispute, protecting the interests of their clients and the relationships they depend on to thrive.

Having successfully defended class action claims in state and federal courts for decades, our team is known for devising defense strategies that result in the dismissal of many cases before class certification and discovery occur.

Appellate Advocacy

Our appellate lawyers prepare and execute effective challenges in both federal and state appellate courts. The Ohio State Bar Association has certified members of our team as specialists in appellate law.

Fiduciary Litigation

When representing a fiduciary in litigation proceedings, we have a detailed, technical command of the law that governs fiduciaries. Drawing from experience in trust and estate law, taxation, nonprofit law, corporate law, banking law and traditional litigation, our attorneys represent clients in all types of disputes.

Title IX & Sexual Misconduct

The U.S. Department of Education’s spotlight on Title IX and the Clery Act pursuant to the Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) makes this a quickly evolving area of law. We help colleges and universities understand these requirements, put proactive measures in place, and address allegations quickly and effectively by applying experience-based guidance to real-life, rapidly changing situations. We also investigate and develop an appropriate institutional response to high-profile, highly sensitive allegations. Visit our Title IX Resource Center >>

Bricker's neutrals are experienced and have both the training and skill needed to resolve a variety of cases. We offer practice- and industry-specific professionals with particular knowledge in business torts, health care, construction, employment and insurance.

Experience


  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
Insights & Resources
Resource Center

A collection of documentation related to Title IX issues on college campuses and education environments. For more information, please visit our Title IX Resource Center.

People
Elyse H. Akhbari Elyse H. Akhbari Associate
Elyse H. Akhbari Associate
Columbus
614.227.8859
eakhbari@bricker.com
Federico G. Barrera III Federico G. Barrera III Staff Attorney
Federico G. Barrera III Staff Attorney
Cleveland
216.523.5476
fbarrera@bricker.com
Jill K. Bigler Jill K. Bigler Associate
Jill K. Bigler Associate
Columbus
614.227.2312
jbigler@bricker.com
Jonathan T. Brollier Jonathan T. Brollier Partner
Jonathan T. Brollier Partner
Columbus
614.227.8805
jbrollier@bricker.com
Aaron M. Bruggeman Aaron M. Bruggeman Associate
Aaron M. Bruggeman Associate
Barnesville
740.374.2284
abruggeman@bricker.com
Drew H. Campbell Drew H. Campbell Partner
Drew H. Campbell Partner
Columbus
614.227.2319
dcampbell@bricker.com
Melissa M. Carleton Melissa M. Carleton Associate
Melissa M. Carleton Associate
Columbus
614.227.4846
mcarleton@bricker.com
Karen L. Clouse Karen L. Clouse Of Counsel
Karen L. Clouse Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2317
kclouse@bricker.com
David K. Conrad David K. Conrad Partner
David K. Conrad Partner
Columbus
614.227.2304
dconrad@bricker.com
Casey L. Cross Casey L. Cross Staff Attorney
Casey L. Cross Staff Attorney
Columbus
614.227.2305
ccross@bricker.com
Nicole M. Donovsky Nicole M. Donovsky Of Counsel
Nicole M. Donovsky Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.4866
ndonovsky@bricker.com
Navera A. Durrani Navera A. Durrani Paralegal
Navera A. Durrani Paralegal
Columbus
614.227.8830
ndurrani@bricker.com
Zachary D. Eddy Zachary D. Eddy Associate
Zachary D. Eddy Associate
Columbus
614.227.7708
zeddy@bricker.com
Andrea M. Enderle Andrea M. Enderle Paralegal
Andrea M. Enderle Paralegal
Columbus
614.227.4832
aenderle@bricker.com
Victoria Flinn McCurdy Victoria Flinn McCurdy Partner
Victoria Flinn McCurdy Partner
Columbus
614.227.2326
vflinnmccurdy@bricker.com
Jennifer A. Flint Jennifer A. Flint Senior Attorney
Jennifer A. Flint Senior Attorney
Columbus
614.227.2316
jflint@bricker.com
Daniel Gerken Daniel Gerken Associate
Daniel Gerken Associate
Columbus
614.227.4869
dgerken@bricker.com
Daniel C. Gibson Daniel C. Gibson Partner
Daniel C. Gibson Partner
Columbus
614.227.2324
dgibson@bricker.com
Katherine Spies Giumenti Katherine Spies Giumenti Partner
Katherine Spies Giumenti Partner
Columbus
614.227.8825
kgiumenti@bricker.com
Amanda M. Grandjean Amanda M. Grandjean Associate
Amanda M. Grandjean Associate
Columbus
614.227.6062
agrandjean@bricker.com
Ali I. Haque Ali I. Haque Associate
Ali I. Haque Associate
Columbus
614.227.2359
ahaque@bricker.com
Kara H. Herrnstein Kara H. Herrnstein Associate
Kara H. Herrnstein Associate
Columbus
614.227.4908
kherrnstein@bricker.com
E. Nicki Hewell E. Nicki Hewell Associate
E. Nicki Hewell Associate
Columbus
614.227.6063
nhewell@bricker.com
James J. Hughes, III James J. Hughes, III Partner
James J. Hughes, III Partner
Columbus
614.227.2365
jjhughes@bricker.com
Pramila A. Kamath Pramila A. Kamath Associate
Pramila A. Kamath Associate
Cincinnati
513.870.6683
pkamath@bricker.com
Lisa M. Kathumbi Lisa M. Kathumbi Partner
Lisa M. Kathumbi Partner
Columbus
614.227.8811
lkathumbi@bricker.com
Michael Katz Michael Katz Associate
Michael Katz Associate
Columbus
614.227.4845
mkatz@bricker.com
Tarik M. Kershah Tarik M. Kershah Associate
Tarik M. Kershah Associate
Columbus
614.227.8814
tkershah@bricker.com
Marie-Joëlle C. Khouzam Marie-Joëlle C. Khouzam Partner
Marie-Joëlle C. Khouzam Partner
Columbus
614.227.2311
jkhouzam@bricker.com
Megan Savage Knox Megan Savage Knox Staff Attorney
Megan Savage Knox Staff Attorney
Columbus
614.227.8885
mknox@bricker.com
Gregory J. Krabacher Gregory J. Krabacher Partner
Gregory J. Krabacher Partner
Columbus
614.227.2369
gkrabacher@bricker.com
David J. Lampe David J. Lampe Partner
David J. Lampe Partner
Cincinnati
513.870.6561
dlampe@bricker.com
Nicholas W. Lanphear Nicholas W. Lanphear Associate
Nicholas W. Lanphear Associate
Columbus
614.227.2306
nlanphear@bricker.com
Sean R. Lehman Sean R. Lehman Associate
Sean R. Lehman Associate
Columbus
614.227.7712
slehman@bricker.com
Quintin F. Lindsmith Quintin F. Lindsmith Partner
Quintin F. Lindsmith Partner
Columbus
614.227.8802
qlindsmith@bricker.com
Richard S. Lovering Richard S. Lovering Partner
Richard S. Lovering Partner
Columbus
614.227.2307
rlovering@bricker.com
Christopher L. McCloskey Christopher L. McCloskey Partner
Christopher L. McCloskey Partner
Columbus
614.227.2385
cmccloskey@bricker.com
Jeffrey P. McSherry Jeffrey P. McSherry Partner
Jeffrey P. McSherry Partner
Cincinnati
513.870.6686
jmcsherry@bricker.com
Beverly A. Meyer Beverly A. Meyer Of Counsel
Beverly A. Meyer Of Counsel
Dayton
937.224.1849
bmeyer@bricker.com
Joshua D. Nolan Joshua D. Nolan Of Counsel
Joshua D. Nolan Of Counsel
Cleveland
216.523.5485
jnolan@bricker.com
Susan L. Oppenheimer Susan L. Oppenheimer Senior Attorney
Susan L. Oppenheimer Senior Attorney
Columbus
614.227.8822
soppenheimer@bricker.com
Stacey L. Prewitt Stacey L. Prewitt Paralegal
Stacey L. Prewitt Paralegal
Cincinnati
513.870.6684
sprewitt@bricker.com
Noorjahan Rahman Noorjahan Rahman Associate
Noorjahan Rahman Associate
Columbus
614.227.6066
nrahman@bricker.com
Nelson M. Reid Nelson M. Reid Partner
Nelson M. Reid Partner
Columbus
614.227.8812
nreid@bricker.com
Justin Ristau Justin Ristau Partner
Justin Ristau Partner
Columbus
614.227.4857
jristau@bricker.com
Lindsey A. Roberts Lindsey A. Roberts Associate
Lindsey A. Roberts Associate
Columbus
614.227.7714
lroberts@bricker.com
Jack Rosati, Jr. Jack Rosati, Jr. Partner
Jack Rosati, Jr. Partner
Columbus
614.227.2321
jrosati@bricker.com
Sue A. Roudebush Sue A. Roudebush Of Counsel
Sue A. Roudebush Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.7744
sroudebush@bricker.com
Christine Rideout Schirra Christine Rideout Schirra Associate
Christine Rideout Schirra Associate
Columbus
614.227.8810
cschirra@bricker.com
Leonard Schoponhove Leonard Schoponhove Associate
Leonard Schoponhove Associate
Columbus
614.227.7737
lschoponhove@bricker.com
James P. Schuck James P. Schuck Of Counsel
James P. Schuck Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.8839
jschuck@bricker.com
Anne Marie Sferra Anne Marie Sferra Partner
Anne Marie Sferra Partner
Columbus
614.227.2394
asferra@bricker.com
Sommer L. Sheely Sommer L. Sheely Partner
Sommer L. Sheely Partner
Columbus
614.227.8870
ssheely@bricker.com
Doug Shevelow, P.E. Doug Shevelow, P.E. Partner
Doug Shevelow, P.E. Partner
Columbus
614.227.4803
dshevelow@bricker.com
Bryan M. Smeenk Bryan M. Smeenk Associate
Bryan M. Smeenk Associate
Columbus
614.227.2314
bsmeenk@bricker.com
Bobbie S. Sprader Bobbie S. Sprader Partner
Bobbie S. Sprader Partner
Columbus
614.227.2315
bsprader@bricker.com
David K. Stein David K. Stein Partner
David K. Stein Partner
Columbus
614.227.7740
dstein@bricker.com
Craig E. Sweeney Craig E. Sweeney Of Counsel
Craig E. Sweeney Of Counsel
Marietta
740.374.4405
csweeney@bricker.com
Matt Warnock Matt Warnock Partner
Matt Warnock Partner
Columbus
614.227.2388
mwarnock@bricker.com
In The Headlines