Industries & Practices

Manufacturing

With solid experience, an industry-wide network and legal agility, we address the needs of manufacturers.

Overview

Our attorneys seek to understand the goals and aspirations of our manufacturing clients, working to identify and meet the most important objectives in every situation. Bricker’s dedication to the manufacturing industry is solidly grounded in our representation of the Ohio Manufacturers’ Association (OMA), giving us insight into the unique legal needs of manufacturers.

Related Industries & Practices

Areas of Focus

Whether embarking on the development of a new facility or looking to stay compliant with all environmental regulations, our attorneys guide manufacturers through complex compliance processes related to siting and permitting, environmental due diligence, EPA regulations and more. From startup to cleanup, we have successfully navigated the environmental considerations of a variety of projects. 

Our energy lawyers are leaders in helping companies take advantage of energy policies that can make their businesses more competitive. Specifically, we have experience in the purchase, sale and delivery of energy, renewable energy, onsite generation of energy, and oil and gas leasing. 

From simple purchases and sales to complex development projects involving the coordination of multiple parties and numerous sources of financing, our real estate team offers a complete menu of national-scope services to manufacturing clients. We excel in acquisition and development law, including private development projects and public-private collaborations.

Working collectively, we advise on every phase of the growth cycle: financing, licensing, commercial agreements, public and private securities offerings, mergers and acquisitions, general public and private day-to-day operations, and corporate governance. 

Whether the solution is an aggressive motion practice, mediation, arbitration, bench trial or trial by jury, our goal is to deliver results while preserving resources and protecting relationships.

We work with representatives from manufacturing businesses to plan for the tax implications of proposed transactions, stay up to date with compliance procedures, resolve any controversies related to state and local taxation, and work through tax abatements, credits and other non-tax incentives. 

Our attorneys partner with manufacturers to identify and negotiate incentives and other entitlements for new projects, including expansions of existing facilities. Some examples include financings that capture additional revenue streams, like tax increment financing, and ones that create sales tax savings on the purchase of building materials for construction.

We work with manufacturing clients of every size to help them stay in compliance with all relevant laws and regulations — while providing a safe working environment and the needed level of benefits to stay competitive and attract a qualified workforce. 

Government Relations

Bricker’s team of lawyer-lobbyists uses firsthand knowledge of election, ethics, lobbying and contracting law to influence issues that directly impact manufacturers. Our longstanding service to companies, associations and coalitions, especially the Ohio Manufacturer’s Association, has earned us an effective voice with legislators and regulators. 

Experience

Insights & Resources
People
Elyse H. Akhbari Elyse H. Akhbari Associate
Elyse H. Akhbari Associate
Columbus
614.227.8859
eakhbari@bricker.com
Maria J. Armstrong Maria J. Armstrong Partner
Maria J. Armstrong Partner
Columbus
614.227.8821
marmstrong@bricker.com
Dylan F. Borchers Dylan F. Borchers Associate
Dylan F. Borchers Associate
Columbus
614.227.4914
dborchers@bricker.com
Aaron M. Bruggeman Aaron M. Bruggeman Associate
Aaron M. Bruggeman Associate
Barnesville
740.374.2284
abruggeman@bricker.com
Justin D. Cook Justin D. Cook Associate
Justin D. Cook Associate
Columbus
614.227.4836
jdcook@bricker.com
Stephen Intihar Stephen Intihar Partner
Stephen Intihar Partner
Columbus
614.227.2376
sintihar@bricker.com
Marie-Joëlle C. Khouzam Marie-Joëlle C. Khouzam Partner
Marie-Joëlle C. Khouzam Partner
Columbus
614.227.2311
jkhouzam@bricker.com
Matthew R. Koppitch Matthew R. Koppitch Associate
Matthew R. Koppitch Associate
Columbus
614.227.8824
mkoppitch@bricker.com
Gregory J. Krabacher Gregory J. Krabacher Partner
Gregory J. Krabacher Partner
Columbus
614.227.2369
gkrabacher@bricker.com
Frank L. Merrill Frank L. Merrill Partner
Frank L. Merrill Partner
Columbus
614.227.8871
fmerrill@bricker.com
Sue A. Roudebush Sue A. Roudebush Of Counsel
Sue A. Roudebush Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.7744
sroudebush@bricker.com
Christine Rideout Schirra Christine Rideout Schirra Associate
Christine Rideout Schirra Associate
Columbus
614.227.8810
cschirra@bricker.com
Anne Marie Sferra Anne Marie Sferra Partner
Anne Marie Sferra Partner
Columbus
614.227.2394
asferra@bricker.com
Sommer L. Sheely Sommer L. Sheely Partner
Sommer L. Sheely Partner
Columbus
614.227.8870
ssheely@bricker.com
Doug Shevelow, P.E. Doug Shevelow, P.E. Partner
Doug Shevelow, P.E. Partner
Columbus
614.227.4803
dshevelow@bricker.com
Christopher N. Slagle Christopher N. Slagle Partner
Christopher N. Slagle Partner
Columbus
614.227.8826
cslagle@bricker.com
In The Headlines