Industries & Practices

Oil & Gas

With statewide connectivity and on-the-ground experience, we provide creative and practical solutions to the oil and gas industry. 

Overview

With a recent focus on the Marcellus and Utica Shale boom in Appalachia, our attorneys utilize decades of experience to address new and complicated legal, regulatory and policy issues involving the shale boom in Ohio and the surrounding states.

Types of clients we represent:

  • Midstream/pipeline companies
  • Exploration and production companies
  • National oil and gas trade associations
  • Financial institutions
  • Public and private landowners
  • Real estate developers
  • Electric generation facilities 

Related Industries & Practices

Areas of Focus
Midstream/Pipelines

The issues that appear throughout pipeline projects frequently require sophisticated counsel and immediate attention. Bricker attorneys are known to be at the forefront of this ever-changing area of law, working with clients to foresee and resolve issues that arise during the permitting, construction, operation and maintenance of interstate and intrastate pipelines (and associated infrastructure), processing facilities and storage facilities.

We regularly work through the real estate and land-use challenges posed by the construction of electric generation facilities, natural gas pipelines, cellular towers and wind turbines in Ohio and surrounding states. As part of the land acquisition phase of such projects, we complete real estate transactional due diligence (including coordination and review of real estate title and survey work), resolve complicated and unique title curative matters, and prepare and negotiate a variety of transactional documents (including oil and gas leases, easements, road use maintenance agreements (RUMAs) and traditional real estate documents). Our team also addresses complex real and personal property tax issues, environmental and regulatory challenges. 

We have experience in various oil and gas litigation matters including eminent domain proceedings and appellate work before Ohio’s intermediate appellate courts and the Ohio Supreme Court. Our firm is also a leader in resolving mineral rights ownership disputes, oil and gas lease disputes, coal and pipeline company disputes, nuisance and trespass claims involving water supply or property contamination, and class action litigation matters involving energy companies. 

We are actively involved in Ohio’s regulatory arena. Our team, which includes a former commissioner of the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio (PUCO) and former Master Commissioner of Public Utility Law for the Ohio Supreme Court, regularly appears before state agencies such as the Ohio Department of Natural Resources, the Ohio Power Siting Board, the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency, Environmental Review Appeals Commission and PUCO.

The lawyer-lobbyists at Bricker have longstanding relationships with public officials within all levels and branches of government. As a result, we do more than just help our oil and gas clients understand existing laws and regulations; we are able to effectively present their viewpoints, advance their interests and use legislation and rulemaking as a problem-solving tool.

Southeast Ohio

Bricker’s close proximity to the greater Appalachian Ohio region has allowed our firm to develop strong and deep relationships with local attorneys, businesses and organizations. We often work in tandem with local practitioners to provide specialized legal services to clients in Appalachia. Our Marietta and Barnesville offices provide a unique opportunity to be on-the-ground and provide practical solutions to the people of the region. More information regarding our Southeast Ohio initiatives >>

Experience

  • 1
  • 2
Insights & Resources
Resource Centers

Collaborating with government entities and private developers to build and implement creative strategies that promote investment, create jobs and enhance communities. For more information, please visit our DevelopOhio Resource Center.

The enormous potential of shale in Ohio and its contiguous states is creating a regional oil and gas “gold rush." This resource center includes a comprehensive array of resources discussing the opportunities, challenges and complexities associated with development of the Utica and Marcellus Shale. For more information, please visit our Shale Resource Center.

People
Dylan F. Borchers Dylan F. Borchers Associate
Dylan F. Borchers Associate
Columbus
614.227.4914
dborchers@bricker.com
Aaron M. Bruggeman Aaron M. Bruggeman Associate
Aaron M. Bruggeman Associate
Barnesville
740.374.2284
abruggeman@bricker.com
Zachary D. Eddy Zachary D. Eddy Associate
Zachary D. Eddy Associate
Columbus
614.227.7708
zeddy@bricker.com
Jennifer A. Flint Jennifer A. Flint Senior Attorney
Jennifer A. Flint Senior Attorney
Columbus
614.227.2316
jflint@bricker.com
Christopher T. Furey Christopher T. Furey Associate
Christopher T. Furey Associate
Cleveland
216.523.5478
cfurey@bricker.com
Daniel Gerken Daniel Gerken Associate
Daniel Gerken Associate
Columbus
614.227.4869
dgerken@bricker.com
Daniel C. Gibson Daniel C. Gibson Partner
Daniel C. Gibson Partner
Columbus
614.227.2324
dgibson@bricker.com
Kara H. Herrnstein Kara H. Herrnstein Associate
Kara H. Herrnstein Associate
Columbus
614.227.4908
kherrnstein@bricker.com
E. Nicki Hewell E. Nicki Hewell Associate
E. Nicki Hewell Associate
Columbus
614.227.6063
nhewell@bricker.com
James J. Hughes, III James J. Hughes, III Partner
James J. Hughes, III Partner
Columbus
614.227.2365
jjhughes@bricker.com
Matthew R. Koppitch Matthew R. Koppitch Associate
Matthew R. Koppitch Associate
Columbus
614.227.8824
mkoppitch@bricker.com
Glenn S. Krassen Glenn S. Krassen Partner
Glenn S. Krassen Partner
Cleveland
216.523.5469
gkrassen@bricker.com
Frank L. Merrill Frank L. Merrill Partner
Frank L. Merrill Partner
Columbus
614.227.8871
fmerrill@bricker.com
Christine Rideout Schirra Christine Rideout Schirra Associate
Christine Rideout Schirra Associate
Columbus
614.227.8810
cschirra@bricker.com
Christopher N. Slagle Christopher N. Slagle Partner
Christopher N. Slagle Partner
Columbus
614.227.8826
cslagle@bricker.com
Craig E. Sweeney Craig E. Sweeney Of Counsel
Craig E. Sweeney Of Counsel
Marietta
740.374.4405
csweeney@bricker.com
Matt Warnock Matt Warnock Partner
Matt Warnock Partner
Columbus
614.227.2388
mwarnock@bricker.com
In The Headlines
Twitter

@ShaleOhio Tweets