Industries & Practices

Midstream/Pipelines

Overview

The issues that appear throughout pipeline projects frequently require sophisticated counsel and immediate attention. Bricker attorneys are known to be at the forefront of this ever-changing area of law, working with clients to foresee and resolve issues that arise during the permitting, construction, operation and maintenance of interstate and intrastate pipelines and associated infrastructure.

Bricker's pipeline work is extensive and comprehensive. Our commitment to businesses and communities affected by pipeline development is specifically demonstrated by the firm's recent expansion into Southeast Ohio. Two offices, one located in Marietta, Ohio, and another located in Barnesville, Ohio, were launched to serve this regional "hotspot" for energy development. In addition to our deep commitment to and longstanding presence in Southeast Ohio, our firm is uniquely positioned both geographically and substantively to provide clients throughout the country with highly personalized strategy specifically tailored to their pipeline project needs. 

Additionally, Bricker’s multidisciplinary team of attorneys regularly works through the real estate and land-use challenges posed by the construction of electric generation facilities, natural gas pipelines, cellular towers and wind turbines in Ohio and surrounding states. As part of the land acquisition phase of such projects, our experience includes:

  • Completing transactional due diligence, including the coordination and review of real estate title and survey work with title insurance companies, surveyors, lenders and easement holders.
  • Resolving complicated and unique title curative matters, including issues relating to oil and gas leases, mineral reservations, blanket easements, restrictive covenants and breaks in the chain of title.
  • Obtaining federal, state and local site approvals, permits and licenses.
  • Preparing and negotiating energy-related right-of-way agreements with public and private landowners, including electric and natural gas transmission line right-of-way agreements, permanent and temporary access road agreements, and permanent and temporary water line agreements.
  • Preparing and negotiating road use maintenance agreements, surface impact agreements and water use agreements.
  • Drafting traditional real estate documents (e.g., option agreements, purchase and sale agreements and land leases).
  • Working with local officials to coordinate the implementation of the project and to resolve any permitting or local oversight issues.
  • Resolving disputes with landowners regarding access for necessary boundary line, environmental and cultural resource surveys, including litigating survey access disputes under Ohio law.
  • Litigating land access issues, including the use of eminent domain under federal and state law.

Related Industries & Practices

Experience

Insights & Resources
Resource Centers

Collaborating with government entities and private developers to build and implement creative strategies that promote investment, create jobs and enhance communities. For more information, please visit our DevelopOhio Resource Center.

The enormous potential of shale in Ohio and its contiguous states is creating a regional oil and gas “gold rush." This resource center includes a comprehensive array of resources discussing the opportunities, challenges and complexities associated with development of the Utica and Marcellus Shale. For more information, please visit our Shale Resource Center.

People
Elyse H. Akhbari Elyse H. Akhbari Associate
Elyse H. Akhbari Associate
Columbus
614.227.8859
eakhbari@bricker.com
Sally W. Bloomfield Sally W. Bloomfield Partner
Sally W. Bloomfield Partner
Columbus
614.227.2368
sbloomfield@bricker.com
Dylan F. Borchers Dylan F. Borchers Associate
Dylan F. Borchers Associate
Columbus
614.227.4914
dborchers@bricker.com
Aaron M. Bruggeman Aaron M. Bruggeman Associate
Aaron M. Bruggeman Associate
Barnesville
740.374.2284
abruggeman@bricker.com
Jennifer A. Flint Jennifer A. Flint Senior Attorney
Jennifer A. Flint Senior Attorney
Columbus
614.227.2316
jflint@bricker.com
Daniel Gerken Daniel Gerken Associate
Daniel Gerken Associate
Columbus
614.227.4869
dgerken@bricker.com
Daniel C. Gibson Daniel C. Gibson Partner
Daniel C. Gibson Partner
Columbus
614.227.2324
dgibson@bricker.com
Kara H. Herrnstein Kara H. Herrnstein Associate
Kara H. Herrnstein Associate
Columbus
614.227.4908
kherrnstein@bricker.com
E. Nicki Hewell E. Nicki Hewell Associate
E. Nicki Hewell Associate
Columbus
614.227.6063
nhewell@bricker.com
James J. Hughes, III James J. Hughes, III Partner
James J. Hughes, III Partner
Columbus
614.227.2365
jjhughes@bricker.com
Glenn S. Krassen Glenn S. Krassen Partner
Glenn S. Krassen Partner
Cleveland
216.523.5469
gkrassen@bricker.com
M. Shannon Martin M. Shannon Martin Partner
M. Shannon Martin Partner
Dayton
937.224.1841
smartin@bricker.com
William D. Mason William D. Mason Partner
William D. Mason Partner
Cleveland
216.523.5468
wmason@bricker.com
Frank L. Merrill Frank L. Merrill Partner
Frank L. Merrill Partner
Columbus
614.227.8871
fmerrill@bricker.com
Devin D. Parram Devin D. Parram Associate
Devin D. Parram Associate
Columbus
614.227. 8813
dparram@bricker.com
Christine Rideout Schirra Christine Rideout Schirra Associate
Christine Rideout Schirra Associate
Columbus
614.227.8810
cschirra@bricker.com
Christopher N. Slagle Christopher N. Slagle Partner
Christopher N. Slagle Partner
Columbus
614.227.8826
cslagle@bricker.com
Craig E. Sweeney Craig E. Sweeney Of Counsel
Craig E. Sweeney Of Counsel
Marietta
740.374.4405
csweeney@bricker.com
Matt Warnock Matt Warnock Partner
Matt Warnock Partner
Columbus
614.227.2388
mwarnock@bricker.com