Industries & Practices

Public Finance

Through bonds and finance options, we support health, safety, education, energy and economic development.

Overview

We serve as bond counsel to more than 1,000 state, city, county, school district, library and higher education entities that are seeking the most economical and efficient ways to finance their capital improvements. From clients who are contemplating a bond financing for the first time to those who are frequent issuers, we supply comprehensive advice that begins with the preliminary planning stage, continues through the process of committee meetings, board meetings and council meetings, and culminates after the capital has been secured.

Our group is known statewide for developing innovative financing structures, and several members have actively participated in the drafting of statutory and constitutional provisions that govern bond finance in Ohio. We are the largest public finance practice group in the state, and every attorney in the group is a member of the National Association of Bond Lawyers. Our lawyers are listed in the “red book” of bond counsel, and we have been recognized by the state and its various political subdivisions, as well as by the underwriting community, as a law firm with a national caliber bond counsel opinion.

We are experienced with the following:

  • Election proceedings for voted levies, bond issues and charter questions
  • Tax and revenue anticipatory notes
  • Taxable and tax-exempt leases
  • Capital financings
  • Private purpose bond financings
  • Structured finance transactions
  • Tax-exempt organizations
  • Economic development incentives
  • Property Assessed Clean Energy (PACE)/energy efficiency

Related Industries & Practices

Areas of Focus
School Bond Finance & Levy Planning

We help school districts obtain and maintain the resources they need. Our experience includes bond and note issuances and tax levies, as well as lease-purchase arrangements, collaborative agreements, protection of assessed valuation, tax abatement and exemption issues, booster and foundation support, and more.

Municipal/County/Township Bond Finance

Representing political subdivisions to finance infrastructure is a key component of our firm’s foundation. We routinely serve as bond counsel, underwriter's counsel, trustee counsel, issuer's counsel and/or company counsel in financings ranging from large general obligation and revenue bond issues to small bond issues. 

State of Ohio & State Agency Finance

Our attorneys are intimately familiar with the State’s fiscal processes and have worked with public officials for decades. From job-creating programs to bond and note issuances, we help government entities create and use Ohio’s financial tools.   

Utilizing the economic development tools that best suit our clients’ goals, we structure and layer resources, connecting government entities and private developers with available financial incentives. Tax increment financing and joint economic development districts are just a few of the areas in which we are highly experienced. 

Energy Finance & PACE

Participating in the issuance of Ohio’s first property assessed clean energy (PACE) bonds, our firm is a trailblazer in the area of energy project finance. We help public entities use funding opportunities to update existing office buildings or warehouses or to acquire an alternative energy source, like solar panels or wind turbines, without impacting certain local debt limitations.

We leverage our experience in public finance, tax, health, securities, charitable trust, creditor’s rights and contract law to find creative fiduciary options for our health care clients. Whether embarking on new initiatives or rethinking existing capital structures, our health care clients rely on our assistance with complex transactions.

Library Bond Finance & Levy Planning

Whether borrowing money from note or bond issuance or raising money through a voter-approved levy, our team guides libraries through each stages of the process. Having partnered with dozens of public libraries across the state, we bring well-rounded experience this unique type of financial matter.

Underwriter's Counsel

Our attorneys regularly represent underwriters in bond financings. In this role, we draft the official statement, the purchase agreement and the continuing disclosure agreement for the transaction and guide our client in completing due diligence review.

Experience

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Insights & Resources
Resource Center

Collaborating with government entities and private developers to build and implement creative strategies that promote investment, create jobs and enhance communities. For more information, please visit our DevelopOhio Resource Center.

Upcoming Events
JUL
31
Seminars

When: Tuesday, July 31, 2018 at 11:30 AM to 1:30 PM

Where: Upper Valley Career Center

Who: Mark Evans, P.E., Katie E. Johnson, David J. Lampe, Matthew L. Stout


People
John Caleb Bell John Caleb Bell Partner
John Caleb Bell Partner
Columbus
614.227.2384
jbell@bricker.com
William T. Conard II William T. Conard II Partner
William T. Conard II Partner
Columbus
614.227.2351
wconard@bricker.com
Price D. Finley Price D. Finley Partner
Price D. Finley Partner
Columbus
614.227.8897
pfinley@bricker.com
Nicolaus A. Gordon Nicolaus A. Gordon Associate
Nicolaus A. Gordon Associate
Columbus
614.227.4843
ngordon@bricker.com
Katie E. Johnson Katie E. Johnson Partner
Katie E. Johnson Partner
Columbus
614.227.2349
kejohnson@bricker.com
Colin J. Kalvas Colin J. Kalvas Associate
Colin J. Kalvas Associate
Columbus
614.227.4998
ckalvas@bricker.com
Richard F. Kane Richard F. Kane Of Counsel
Richard F. Kane Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2371
rkane@bricker.com
Michael Katz Michael Katz Associate
Michael Katz Associate
Columbus
614.227.4845
mkatz@bricker.com
Glenn S. Krassen Glenn S. Krassen Partner
Glenn S. Krassen Partner
Cleveland
216.523.5469
gkrassen@bricker.com
Jacquelin R. Lewis Jacquelin R. Lewis Associate
Jacquelin R. Lewis Associate
Columbus
614.227.7735
jlewis@bricker.com
Carlos G. Maciel Carlos G. Maciel Public Finance Analyst
Carlos G. Maciel Public Finance Analyst
Columbus
614.227.2335
cmaciel@bricker.com
M. Shannon Martin M. Shannon Martin Partner
M. Shannon Martin Partner
Dayton
937.224.1841
smartin@bricker.com
William D. Mason William D. Mason Partner
William D. Mason Partner
Cleveland
216.523.5468
wmason@bricker.com
Robert F. McCarthy Robert F. McCarthy Partner
Robert F. McCarthy Partner
Columbus
614.227.2308
rmccarthy@bricker.com
Tracy L. McKenna Tracy L. McKenna Public Finance Analyst
Tracy L. McKenna Public Finance Analyst
Cleveland
216.523.5475
tmckenna@bricker.com
Christopher M. Nalls Christopher M. Nalls Associate
Christopher M. Nalls Associate
Dayton
937.535.3917
cnalls@bricker.com
Sarah E. O’Dea Sarah E. O’Dea Senior Counsel
Sarah E. O’Dea Senior Counsel
Columbus
614.227.6046
sodea@bricker.com
Rebecca C. Princehorn Rebecca C. Princehorn Partner
Rebecca C. Princehorn Partner
Columbus
614.227.2302
rprincehorn@bricker.com
Paul S. Rutter Paul S. Rutter Of Counsel
Paul S. Rutter Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2372
prutter@bricker.com
Christiane W. Schmenk Christiane W. Schmenk Of Counsel
Christiane W. Schmenk Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2323
cschmenk@bricker.com
Richard C. Simpson Richard C. Simpson Of Counsel
Richard C. Simpson Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2354
rsimpson@bricker.com
Matthew L. Stout Matthew L. Stout Partner
Matthew L. Stout Partner
Columbus
614.227.8861
mstout@bricker.com
Catherine M. Swartz Catherine M. Swartz Of Counsel
Catherine M. Swartz Of Counsel
Cleveland
216.523.5465
cswartz@bricker.com
Jason Tiemeier Jason Tiemeier Associate
Jason Tiemeier Associate
Columbus
614.227.6067
jtiemeier@bricker.com
In The Headlines
Twitter

@DevelopOhio Tweets