Industries & Practices

Public Sector

With a long-standing commitment to public service, we help government serve its communities effectively and efficiently.

Overview

Public service is the cornerstone of strong communities. Our firm has its own rich history of public service, which began with founding partner John W. Bricker, a former Ohio Governor and U.S. Senator. This rare foundation gives us long-established insight into the public sector. Today, we continue to provide political subdivisions and governmental agencies with the legal support needed to keep our communities running smoothly.

Types of clients we represent:

  • State agencies
  • Counties
  • Municipalities
  • Townships
  • School districts
  • Libraries
  • Colleges and universities
  • Port authorities
  • Special purpose districts

Related Industries & Practices

Areas of Focus
Public Finance

Bricker & Eckler is recognized by the state and its various political subdivisions, as well as by the underwriting community, as a law firm with a national caliber bond counsel opinion. We excel in both routine and complex financial transactions, including bonds, notes and certificates of indebtedness issued by government or on behalf of all types of nonprofits. Our list of clients continues to grow based on the favorable recommendations of the many public officials we have represented. Visit our Public Finance practice.

Education Law

We represent an extensive range of public sector clients, including well over 200 public school districts and numerous educational service centers statewide. As the single largest legal group in Ohio dedicated specifically to education, Bricker’s education attorneys bring hundreds of years of combined experience to the table. Education clients benefit from an unmatchable breadth of services, yet receive personalized advice that uniquely addresses their needs. Visit our Education Law practice.

Construction Law

Bricker & Eckler provides a full range of construction law services to public owners. Many with engineering and construction management backgrounds, our attorneys act as counsel on all aspects of construction projects and have specialized knowledge of the project requirements of schools, libraries, jails, recreation centers, and other public capital projects of all sizes and complexities. Visit our Construction Law practice.

Government Relations

Our skilled Government Relations team connects political subdivisions and governmental agencies to the legislative, administrative and regulatory opportunities that support their goals. Our attorneys use firsthand knowledge of complex election, ethics, lobbying and contracting law to build productive relationships with officials and advocate on behalf of clients’ public policy interests. Visit our Government Relations practice.

Employment & Labor

Whether supporting a small municipality or a regional public hospital system, our attorneys are committed to providing the insightful employment advice and successful representation for which we are known. By educating our public sector clients, anticipating complications, and assisting them in preventative measures, we are able to help them maintain a flexible employment operation. Visit our Employment & Labor practice.

Taxation

Bricker & Eckler’s public sector partners have access to comprehensive services related all aspects of federal, state and local taxation. From tax valuation to tax abatement, as well as the tax implications of economic development projects and financings, our attorneys help public sector clients navigate the complexities of ever-changing tax law. Visit our Taxation practice.

Experience

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
Insights & Resources
Resource Center

Collaborating with government entities and private developers to build and implement creative strategies that promote investment, create jobs and enhance communities. For more information, please visit our DevelopOhio Resource Center.

People
Maria J. Armstrong Maria J. Armstrong Partner
Maria J. Armstrong Partner
Columbus
614.227.8821
marmstrong@bricker.com
John Caleb Bell John Caleb Bell Partner
John Caleb Bell Partner
Columbus
614.227.2384
jbell@bricker.com
Kimball H. Carey Kimball H. Carey Partner
Kimball H. Carey Partner
Columbus
614.227.4891
kcarey@bricker.com
Melissa M. Carleton Melissa M. Carleton Associate
Melissa M. Carleton Associate
Columbus
614.227.4846
mcarleton@bricker.com
William T. Conard II William T. Conard II Partner
William T. Conard II Partner
Columbus
614.227.2351
wconard@bricker.com
Desmond J. Cullimore, P.E., BCEE Desmond J. Cullimore, P.E., BCEE Associate
Desmond J. Cullimore, P.E., BCEE Associate
Columbus
614.227.4837
dcullimore@bricker.com
Nicole M. Donovsky Nicole M. Donovsky Of Counsel
Nicole M. Donovsky Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.4866
ndonovsky@bricker.com
Price D. Finley Price D. Finley Partner
Price D. Finley Partner
Columbus
614.227.8897
pfinley@bricker.com
Jennifer A. Flint Jennifer A. Flint Senior Attorney
Jennifer A. Flint Senior Attorney
Columbus
614.227.2316
jflint@bricker.com
Dane A. Gaschen Dane A. Gaschen Partner
Dane A. Gaschen Partner
Columbus
614.227.8887
dgaschen@bricker.com
Sylvia L. Gillis Sylvia L. Gillis Partner
Sylvia L. Gillis Partner
Columbus
614.227.2353
sgillis@bricker.com
Colin J. Kalvas Colin J. Kalvas Associate
Colin J. Kalvas Associate
Columbus
614.227.4998
ckalvas@bricker.com
Marie-Joëlle C. Khouzam Marie-Joëlle C. Khouzam Partner
Marie-Joëlle C. Khouzam Partner
Columbus
614.227.2311
jkhouzam@bricker.com
Glenn S. Krassen Glenn S. Krassen Partner
Glenn S. Krassen Partner
Cleveland
216.523.5469
gkrassen@bricker.com
Gregory J. Lestini Gregory J. Lestini Partner
Gregory J. Lestini Partner
Columbus
614.227.4893
glestini@bricker.com
Jacquelin R. Lewis Jacquelin R. Lewis Associate
Jacquelin R. Lewis Associate
Columbus
614.227.7735
jlewis@bricker.com
M. Shannon Martin M. Shannon Martin Partner
M. Shannon Martin Partner
Cincinnati-Dayton
513.870.6692
smartin@bricker.com
William D. Mason William D. Mason Partner
William D. Mason Partner
Cleveland
216.523.5468
wmason@bricker.com
Robert F. McCarthy Robert F. McCarthy Associate
Robert F. McCarthy Associate
Columbus
614.227.2308
rmccarthy@bricker.com
Christopher L. McCloskey Christopher L. McCloskey Partner
Christopher L. McCloskey Partner
Columbus
614.227.2385
cmccloskey@bricker.com
Thomas J. Onusko Thomas J. Onusko Of Counsel
Thomas J. Onusko Of Counsel
Cleveland
216.523.5471
tonusko@bricker.com
Rebecca C. Princehorn Rebecca C. Princehorn Partner
Rebecca C. Princehorn Partner
Columbus
614.227.2302
rprincehorn@bricker.com
Jack Rosati, Jr. Jack Rosati, Jr. Partner
Jack Rosati, Jr. Partner
Columbus
614.227.2321
jrosati@bricker.com
Christiane W. Schmenk Christiane W. Schmenk Of Counsel
Christiane W. Schmenk Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2323
cschmenk@bricker.com
Richard C. Simpson Richard C. Simpson Of Counsel
Richard C. Simpson Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2354
rsimpson@bricker.com
Christopher N. Slagle Christopher N. Slagle Partner
Christopher N. Slagle Partner
Columbus
614.227.8826
cslagle@bricker.com
Matthew L. Stout Matthew L. Stout Partner
Matthew L. Stout Partner
Columbus
614.227.8861
mstout@bricker.com
Catherine M. Swartz Catherine M. Swartz Of Counsel
Catherine M. Swartz Of Counsel
Cleveland
216.523.5465
cswartz@bricker.com
Twitter

@DevelopOhio Tweets