Industries & Practices

Public Sector

We help governments and schools serve their communities effectively and efficiently.

Overview

Providing cutting-edge legal services to public entities has been a key component of our foundation for more than 70 years. We have established ourselves as a go-to law firm for public sector law and have dozens of attorneys who focus their practice exclusively on public law matters.

As one of the largest public law firms in Ohio, Bricker represents more than 1,000 political subdivisions, including:

  • State agencies
  • Counties
  • Municipalities
  • Townships
  • School districts
  • Libraries
  • Colleges, universities and public hospitals
  • Port authorities
  • Special purpose districts

Related Industries & Practices

Areas of Focus

Bricker & Eckler is recognized by the state and its various political subdivisions, as well as by the underwriting community, as a law firm with a national caliber bond counsel opinion. We excel in both routine and complex financial transactions, including bonds, notes, and certificates of indebtedness issued by government or on behalf of all types of nonprofits.

We have the largest group of attorneys in Ohio dedicated to the practice of education law. Our clients include more than 200 school districts throughout Ohio, along with educational service centers, information technology centers, colleges and universities, and other education-related entities. The breadth of our collective experience — complemented by our ability to call on attorneys in construction, public finance, government relations, and other practice groups — enables us to personalize our services to address the unique needs of each client in a cost-effective manner. 

We work with governments to acquire the resources they need to create and maintain jobs through special programs established by Ohio law, including tax increment financing (TIF) and joint economic development districts (JEDD). We’ve partnered with numerous cities, counties, villages and more to find creative and realistic funding options.

We provide a full range of construction law services to public entities. Our attorneys, many with engineering and construction management backgrounds, counsel on all aspects of construction projects including schools, libraries, jails, public hospitals, recreation centers, and other public capital projects of all sizes and complexities.

Our skilled lawyer-lobbyists assist political subdivisions, as well as public and private agencies, to navigate legislative, administrative and regulatory challenges. We use firsthand knowledge of complex election, ethics, lobbying and contracting law to build productive relationships with officials and advocate on behalf of clients’ public policy interests. 

Whether supporting a small municipality or a regional public hospital system, our attorneys provide insightful employment advice and successful representation. By working together with our public sector clients, anticipating complications and assisting them in preventative measures, we are able to help them maintain a flexible employment operation.

Our attorneys help our public sector clients navigate the complexities of ever-changing tax laws. We represent clients in property tax valuation litigation, counsel them on property tax exemption laws and advise them on the tax implications of complex economic development projects. The breadth of our attorneys’ interdisciplinary experience allows us to uniquely address our public sector clients’ needs.    

Eminent Domain

We counsel local governments, such as school districts, counties and municipalities, as well as landowners on eminent domain matters. From counseling clients through the pre-filing process and negotiations to representing them in state appropriation proceedings, our attorneys combine significant eminent domain experience, with the knowledge of our client’s business/project needs to achieve favorable outcomes.

Experience

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Insights & Resources
Resource Center

Collaborating with government entities and private developers to build and implement creative strategies that promote investment, create jobs and enhance communities. For more information, please visit our DevelopOhio Resource Center.

Upcoming Events
SEP
12
Webinars

When: Wednesday, September 12, 2018 at 12:00 PM to 1:00 PM

Where: Webinar

Who: Rachel King, Joshua D. Nolan

SEP
28
Other

When: Friday, September 28, 2018 at 8:30 AM to 3:30 PM

Where: Bricker & Eckler LLP

Who: Laura G. Anthony, Melissa M. Carleton

OCT
11
Seminars - More Information Coming Soon

When: Thursday, October 11, 2018 at 7:40 AM to 4:45 PM

Where: The Conference Center at OCLC


People
Laura G. Anthony Laura G. Anthony Partner
Laura G. Anthony Partner
Columbus
614.227.2366
lanthony@bricker.com
Maria J. Armstrong Maria J. Armstrong Partner
Maria J. Armstrong Partner
Columbus
614.227.8821
marmstrong@bricker.com
Randy Bank Randy Bank Partner
Randy Bank Partner
Columbus
614.227.8836
rbank@bricker.com
Federico G. Barrera III Federico G. Barrera III Staff Attorney
Federico G. Barrera III Staff Attorney
Cleveland
216.523.5476
fbarrera@bricker.com
John Caleb Bell John Caleb Bell Partner
John Caleb Bell Partner
Columbus
614.227.2384
jbell@bricker.com
Christopher J. Bondra Christopher J. Bondra Associate
Christopher J. Bondra Associate
Cleveland
216.523.5483
cbondra@bricker.com
Melissa M. Bondy Melissa M. Bondy Senior Attorney
Melissa M. Bondy Senior Attorney
Columbus
614.227.8875
mbondy@bricker.com
Laura J. Bowman Laura J. Bowman Associate
Laura J. Bowman Associate
Columbus
614.227.4842
lbowman@bricker.com
Diana S. Brown Diana S. Brown Partner
Diana S. Brown Partner
Columbus
614.227.8823
dbrown@bricker.com
Kimball H. Carey Kimball H. Carey Of Counsel
Kimball H. Carey Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.4891
kcarey@bricker.com
Melissa M. Carleton Melissa M. Carleton Associate
Melissa M. Carleton Associate
Columbus
614.227.4846
mcarleton@bricker.com
William T. Conard II William T. Conard II Partner
William T. Conard II Partner
Columbus
614.227.2351
wconard@bricker.com
Janet K. Cooper Janet K. Cooper Of Counsel
Janet K. Cooper Of Counsel
Dayton
937.224.1799
jcooper@bricker.com
Casey L. Cross Casey L. Cross Staff Attorney
Casey L. Cross Staff Attorney
Columbus
614.227.2305
ccross@bricker.com
Desmond J. Cullimore, P.E., BCEE Desmond J. Cullimore, P.E., BCEE Associate
Desmond J. Cullimore, P.E., BCEE Associate
Columbus
614.227.4837
dcullimore@bricker.com
Kate V. Davis Kate V. Davis Senior Attorney
Kate V. Davis Senior Attorney
Dayton
937.535.3902
kdavis@bricker.com
Nicole M. Donovsky Nicole M. Donovsky Of Counsel
Nicole M. Donovsky Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.4866
ndonovsky@bricker.com
Mark Evans, P.E. Mark Evans, P.E. Partner
Mark Evans, P.E. Partner
Cincinnati
513.870.6700
mevans@bricker.com
Price D. Finley Price D. Finley Partner
Price D. Finley Partner
Columbus
614.227.8897
pfinley@bricker.com
Jennifer A. Flint Jennifer A. Flint Senior Attorney
Jennifer A. Flint Senior Attorney
Columbus
614.227.2316
jflint@bricker.com
Dane A. Gaschen Dane A. Gaschen Partner
Dane A. Gaschen Partner
Columbus
614.227.8887
dgaschen@bricker.com
Susan E. Geary Susan E. Geary Of Counsel
Susan E. Geary Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2330
sgeary@bricker.com
Sylvia Lynn Gillis Sylvia Lynn Gillis Partner
Sylvia Lynn Gillis Partner
Columbus
614.227.2353
sgillis@bricker.com
Nicolaus A. Gordon Nicolaus A. Gordon Associate
Nicolaus A. Gordon Associate
Columbus
614.227.4843
ngordon@bricker.com
Susan B. Greenberger Susan B. Greenberger Of Counsel
Susan B. Greenberger Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.8848
sgreenberger@bricker.com
Warren I. Grody Warren I. Grody Senior Attorney
Warren I. Grody Senior Attorney
Columbus
614.227.2332
wgrody@bricker.com
Benjamin B. Hyden Benjamin B. Hyden Partner
Benjamin B. Hyden Partner
Cincinnati
513.870.6575
bhyden@bricker.com
Katie E. Johnson Katie E. Johnson Partner
Katie E. Johnson Partner
Columbus
614.227.2349
kejohnson@bricker.com
Colin J. Kalvas Colin J. Kalvas Associate
Colin J. Kalvas Associate
Columbus
614.227.4998
ckalvas@bricker.com
Pramila A. Kamath Pramila A. Kamath Associate
Pramila A. Kamath Associate
Cincinnati
513.870.6683
pkamath@bricker.com
Michael Katz Michael Katz Associate
Michael Katz Associate
Columbus
614.227.4845
mkatz@bricker.com
Tarik M. Kershah Tarik M. Kershah Associate
Tarik M. Kershah Associate
Columbus
614.227.8814
tkershah@bricker.com
Marie-Joëlle C. Khouzam Marie-Joëlle C. Khouzam Partner
Marie-Joëlle C. Khouzam Partner
Columbus
614.227.2311
jkhouzam@bricker.com
Rachel King Rachel King Of Counsel
Rachel King Of Counsel
Cleveland
216.523.5471
rsking@bricker.com
Megan Savage Knox Megan Savage Knox Staff Attorney
Megan Savage Knox Staff Attorney
Columbus
614.227.8885
mknox@bricker.com
Glenn S. Krassen Glenn S. Krassen Partner
Glenn S. Krassen Partner
Cleveland
216.523.5469
gkrassen@bricker.com
David J. Lampe David J. Lampe Partner
David J. Lampe Partner
Cincinnati
513.870.6561
dlampe@bricker.com
Sean R. Lehman Sean R. Lehman Associate
Sean R. Lehman Associate
Columbus
614.227.7712
slehman@bricker.com
Gregory J. Lestini Gregory J. Lestini Partner
Gregory J. Lestini Partner
Columbus
614.227.4893
glestini@bricker.com
Jacquelin R. Lewis Jacquelin R. Lewis Associate
Jacquelin R. Lewis Associate
Columbus
614.227.7735
jlewis@bricker.com
M. Shannon Martin M. Shannon Martin Partner
M. Shannon Martin Partner
Dayton
937.224.1841
smartin@bricker.com
William D. Mason William D. Mason Partner
William D. Mason Partner
Cleveland
216.523.5468
wmason@bricker.com
Robert F. McCarthy Robert F. McCarthy Partner
Robert F. McCarthy Partner
Columbus
614.227.2308
rmccarthy@bricker.com
Christopher L. McCloskey Christopher L. McCloskey Partner
Christopher L. McCloskey Partner
Columbus
614.227.2385
cmccloskey@bricker.com
Beverly A. Meyer Beverly A. Meyer Of Counsel
Beverly A. Meyer Of Counsel
Dayton
937.224.1849
bmeyer@bricker.com
Christopher M. Nalls Christopher M. Nalls Associate
Christopher M. Nalls Associate
Dayton
937.535.3917
cnalls@bricker.com
Joshua D. Nolan Joshua D. Nolan Of Counsel
Joshua D. Nolan Of Counsel
Cleveland
216.523.5485
jnolan@bricker.com
Sarah E. O’Dea Sarah E. O’Dea Senior Counsel
Sarah E. O’Dea Senior Counsel
Columbus
614.227.6046
sodea@bricker.com
Susan L. Oppenheimer Susan L. Oppenheimer Senior Attorney
Susan L. Oppenheimer Senior Attorney
Columbus
614.227.8822
soppenheimer@bricker.com
Karen "Katy" W. Osborn Karen "Katy" W. Osborn Of Counsel
Karen "Katy" W. Osborn Of Counsel
Dayton
937.535.3905
kosborn@bricker.com
Rebecca C. Princehorn Rebecca C. Princehorn Partner
Rebecca C. Princehorn Partner
Columbus
614.227.2302
rprincehorn@bricker.com
Jack Rosati, Jr. Jack Rosati, Jr. Partner
Jack Rosati, Jr. Partner
Columbus
614.227.2321
jrosati@bricker.com
Richard W. Ross Richard W. Ross Of Counsel
Richard W. Ross Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.4873
rross@bricker.com
Paul S. Rutter Paul S. Rutter Of Counsel
Paul S. Rutter Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2372
prutter@bricker.com
Christiane W. Schmenk Christiane W. Schmenk Of Counsel
Christiane W. Schmenk Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2323
cschmenk@bricker.com
Doug Shevelow, P.E. Doug Shevelow, P.E. Partner
Doug Shevelow, P.E. Partner
Columbus
614.227.4803
dshevelow@bricker.com
Richard C. Simpson Richard C. Simpson Of Counsel
Richard C. Simpson Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2354
rsimpson@bricker.com
Christopher N. Slagle Christopher N. Slagle Partner
Christopher N. Slagle Partner
Columbus
614.227.8826
cslagle@bricker.com
Bryan M. Smeenk Bryan M. Smeenk Associate
Bryan M. Smeenk Associate
Columbus
614.227.2314
bsmeenk@bricker.com
Matthew L. Stout Matthew L. Stout Partner
Matthew L. Stout Partner
Columbus
614.227.8861
mstout@bricker.com
Jason R. Stuckey Jason R. Stuckey Associate
Jason R. Stuckey Associate
Cincinnati
513.870.6687
jstuckey@bricker.com
Catherine M. Swartz Catherine M. Swartz Of Counsel
Catherine M. Swartz Of Counsel
Cleveland
216.523.5465
cswartz@bricker.com
Tess G. Tannehill Tess G. Tannehill Associate
Tess G. Tannehill Associate
Columbus
614.227.2347
ttannehill@bricker.com
Jason Tiemeier Jason Tiemeier Associate
Jason Tiemeier Associate
Columbus
614.227.6067
jtiemeier@bricker.com
Sue W. Yount Sue W. Yount Partner
Sue W. Yount Partner
Columbus
614.227.2336
syount@bricker.com
In The Headlines
Twitter

@DevelopOhio Tweets