Industries & Practices

Real Estate

We are an integrated team offering full-service real estate solutions nationwide.

Overview

From acquisition, financing and development to investment, leasing and sales, our team assists in all aspects of real estate transactions. First established in the 1940s, our firm’s real estate capability has expanded nationally. In fact, we have participated in transactions in nearly every state in the country. 

Types of clients we represent:

  • Banks and financial institutions
  • Commercial and residential property owners and developers
  • Health care systems and hospitals
  • Local and state governmental entities and agencies
  • Telecommunication companies
  • Oil and gas companies
  • Electric generation companies
  • Hotel owners and developers

Examples of the services we offer:

  • Comprehensive drafting of transaction documents
  • Thorough due diligence
  • Distressed loan workout and collection
  • Negotiating the purchase and sale of equity interests
  • Debt and equity financing
  • Partnerships and joint ventures
  • Zoning
  • Annexation
  • Negotiating governmental development incentives and funding sources
  • Land subdivision
  • Wetlands and other environmental permitting
  • Advise asset management and loan services

Related Industries & Practices

Areas of Focus
Lending

We maintain a sophisticated, high-volume commercial lending practice, representing numerous commercial mortgage lenders throughout Ohio and the U.S. Understanding the complex documentation and procedural requirements, our real estate attorneys and paralegals are skilled in handling a variety of loan types and capital transactions and take a solution-based approach to the loan documentation and closing process.

Property Acquisition & Development

Working cooperatively with both public and private entities, our firm handles a wide range of development projects from all sides of the transaction. Whether approached with finance, construction, zoning, environmental or tax questions, we build creative solutions around issues that may arise while obtaining property or throughout the development process.

Tax Credits

From eligibility requirements to financing options to compliance, our commercial finance and development attorneys help clients implement a variety of financing tools, including Low Income Housing Tax Credits (LIHTCs), historic tax credits, various U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) financing programs, Rural Development 538 guaranteed financing, Rural Development 515 financing, various state housing agency financing programs and more. We advise on the real estate, lending, land, investment, compliance and tax implications surrounding these unique financing options. 

Hotels & Hospitality

We represent our clients in the acquisition, financing, development, ownership and disposition of real estate assets within the hospitality industry. Our attorneys also assist with day-to-day asset management of hospitality projects and servicing of loans secured by hospitality assets. 

We help clients form entities to own and invest in real estate assets. This includes the drafting and negotiation of partnership agreements, any equity investments and all types of real estate transactions. 

Leasing

Our attorneys have represented public and private entities in countless retail, restaurant, medical, professional, industrial and mixed-use leases throughout Ohio and beyond. We review, draft and negotiate commercial lease agreements and have honed specific skills in the telecommunications industry and in wind energy development. We are known for handling a high volume of transactions with speed and consistency.

Our attorneys have helped clients with debt and equity financing for the construction of projects and transactions involving extensive real estate, environmental and tax issues. Our services include real estate due diligence; title curative work property acquisition and easement negotiations; document preparation; and work with lenders and equity investors. Within the telecommunications industry, we advise Ohio municipalities regarding ordinance drafting, ensuring the ordinances are compliant with federal and state micro-wireless regulations. 

With vast knowledge of the lending and how it impacts real estate negotiation, we represent lenders and developers in real estate due diligence, title curative work, property acquisition and easement negotiations. 

Loan Workouts

Our attorneys frequently represent both borrowers and lenders seeking to restructure troubled credits, negotiating and documenting forbearance, collateral surrender, liquidation, lien subordination and payment subordination transactions, as well as loan agreement amendments and covenant waiver matters. 

Experience

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
Insights & Resources
People
Amy S. Bartemes Amy S. Bartemes Partner
Amy S. Bartemes Partner
Columbus
614.227.2379
abartemes@bricker.com
Nicholas I. Bass Nicholas I. Bass Associate
Nicholas I. Bass Associate
Columbus
614.227.6061
nbass@bricker.com
Arlisia R. Caldwell Arlisia R. Caldwell Paralegal
Arlisia R. Caldwell Paralegal
Columbus
614.227.4994
acaldwell@bricker.com
Robert T. Castor Robert T. Castor Partner
Robert T. Castor Partner
Columbus
614.227.4871
rcastor@bricker.com
David K. Conrad David K. Conrad Partner
David K. Conrad Partner
Columbus
614.227.2304
dconrad@bricker.com
Christopher J. Dusseau Christopher J. Dusseau Partner
Christopher J. Dusseau Partner
Columbus
614.227.8889
cdusseau@bricker.com
Teresa A. Ehmann Teresa A. Ehmann Paralegal
Teresa A. Ehmann Paralegal
Columbus
614.227.4805
tehmann@bricker.com
Kristin Eppert Kristin Eppert OSBA Certified Paralegal
Kristin Eppert OSBA Certified Paralegal
Columbus
614.227.8833
keppert@bricker.com
Price D. Finley Price D. Finley Partner
Price D. Finley Partner
Columbus
614.227.8897
pfinley@bricker.com
Maureen C. Flahive Maureen C. Flahive Associate
Maureen C. Flahive Associate
Columbus
614.227.7710
mflahive@bricker.com
Christopher T. Furey Christopher T. Furey Associate
Christopher T. Furey Associate
Cleveland
216.523.5478
cfurey@bricker.com
James S. Gray James S. Gray Partner
James S. Gray Partner
Columbus
614.227.4834
jgray@bricker.com
Craig A. Haddox Craig A. Haddox Partner
Craig A. Haddox Partner
Columbus
614.227.2320
chaddox@bricker.com
Alyson N. Hurley Alyson N. Hurley Staff Attorney
Alyson N. Hurley Staff Attorney
Columbus
614.227.4819
ahurley@bricker.com
Stephen Intihar Stephen Intihar Partner
Stephen Intihar Partner
Columbus
614.227.2376
sintihar@bricker.com
M. Shannon Martin M. Shannon Martin Partner
M. Shannon Martin Partner
Dayton
937.224.1841
smartin@bricker.com
Charles H. McCreary Charles H. McCreary Partner
Charles H. McCreary Partner
Columbus
614.227.2387
cmccreary@bricker.com
Christopher M. Nalls Christopher M. Nalls Associate
Christopher M. Nalls Associate
Dayton
937.535.3917
cnalls@bricker.com
Meagan L. Natale Meagan L. Natale Associate
Meagan L. Natale Associate
Columbus
614.227.4847
mnatale@bricker.com
Rachel Lusk Stine Rachel Lusk Stine Associate
Rachel Lusk Stine Associate
Columbus
614.227.7715
rstine@bricker.com
Christopher N. Swank Christopher N. Swank Partner
Christopher N. Swank Partner
Columbus
614.227.4895
cswank@bricker.com
Tina M. Waters Tina M. Waters OSBA Certified Paralegal
Tina M. Waters OSBA Certified Paralegal
Columbus
614.227.8847
twaters@bricker.com
In The Headlines