Industries & Practices

Real Estate

An integrated team offering full-service real estate solutions nationwide.

Overview

Bricker & Eckler provides a full range of real estate law services. From acquisition, financing and development to investment, leasing and sales, our team assists in all aspects of real estate transactions. Clients benefit from our collaboration with the firm’s other practice areas, including tax, construction, public utilities, environment, public finance and commercial lending.

First developed in the 1940s, our firm’s real estate capability has expanded nationally. In addition to extensive work in Ohio, we have participated in real estate transactions in nearly every state in the country. Adding to our national distinction, our real estate group is highly rated among Ohio firms by Chambers USA.

Types of clients we represent:

  • Banks and financial institutions
  • Commercial and residential property developers
  • Health care systems and hospitals
  • Local and state governmental entities and agencies
  • Telecommunication companies
  • Oil and gas companies
  • Electric generation companies

Examples of the services we offer:

  • Comprehensive drafting of transaction documents
  • Thorough due diligence
  • Distressed loan workout and collection
  • Negotiating the purchase and sale of equity interests
  • Zoning
  • Annexation
  • Negotiating governmental development incentives and funding sources
  • Land subdivision
  • Wetlands and other environmental permitting

Related Industries & Practices

Areas of Focus
Commercial Leasing

Bricker’s real estate attorneys have been involved in countless retail, restaurant, medical, professional, industrial and mixed-use leases throughout Ohio and beyond. With a wealth of experience reviewing, drafting and negotiating commercial lease agreements, we are able to handle the complex issues that often arise. Our attorneys have broad experience representing public and private entities in leasing transactions. We have also developed specific skills in negotiating leases in the telecommunications industry and in the area of wind energy development, handling a high volume of transactions with speed and consistency.

Commercial Lending

We maintain a sophisticated, high-volume commercial lending practice, representing numerous commercial mortgage lenders throughout Ohio and the U.S. Understanding the complex documentation and procedural requirements, our real estate attorneys and paralegals are skilled in handling a variety of loan types and capital transactions. We take a solution-based approach to the loan documentation and closing process that is supported by our deep understanding of our lender clients’ businesses and customers.

Property Acquisition & Development

Working cooperatively with both public and private entities, our firm handles a wide range of development projects from all sides of the transaction. We build creative solutions around issues that may arise while obtaining property or throughout the development process. Whether approached with finance, construction, zoning, environmental or tax questions, our attorneys have the resources and experience to provide strategic and timely answers.

Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit

Bricker & Eckler’s attorneys have helped developers and lenders finance some of Ohio’s notable historic rehabilitation projects using the Federal Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit Program and the Ohio Historic Preservation Tax Credit Program and can advise on the real estate, lending, land use, investment, compliance and tax implications surrounding this unique financing option. Our historic tax credit experience encompasses a variety of project types across the state. We work with clients during all stages of the project to help them understand the particular challenges, opportunities and risks of historic tax credit projects so that their interests are protected throughout each stage of development.

Affordable Housing/Low Income Housing Tax Credits

Developers and lenders that understand the complexities of offering affordable housing can benefit from several incentives, including federal and state tax credits. From eligibility requirements to financing options to compliance, our commercial finance and development attorneys help clients implement a variety of financing tools, including Low Income Housing Tax Credits (LIHTCs), historic tax credits, various U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) financing programs, Rural Development 538 guaranteed financing, Rural Development 515 financing, various state housing agency financing programs and more.

Experience

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
Insights & Resources
People
David G. Baker David G. Baker Of Counsel
David G. Baker Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2364
dbaker@bricker.com
Amy S. Bartemes Amy S. Bartemes Associate
Amy S. Bartemes Associate
Columbus
614.227.2379
abartemes@bricker.com
Robert T. Castor Robert T. Castor Partner
Robert T. Castor Partner
Columbus
614.227.4871
rcastor@bricker.com
David K. Conrad David K. Conrad Partner
David K. Conrad Partner
Columbus
614.227.2304
dconrad@bricker.com
Stephanie A. Dill Stephanie A. Dill Of Counsel
Stephanie A. Dill Of Counsel
Cincinnati-Dayton
513.870.6023
sdill@bricker.com
Kristin Eppert Kristin Eppert OSBA Certified Paralegal
Kristin Eppert OSBA Certified Paralegal
Columbus
614.227.8833
keppert@bricker.com
Price D. Finley Price D. Finley Partner
Price D. Finley Partner
Columbus
614.227.8897
pfinley@bricker.com
James S. Gray James S. Gray Partner
James S. Gray Partner
Columbus
614.227.4834
jgray@bricker.com
Craig A. Haddox Craig A. Haddox Partner
Craig A. Haddox Partner
Columbus
614.227.2320
chaddox@bricker.com
Maggie M. Humphrey Maggie M. Humphrey Senior Attorney
Maggie M. Humphrey Senior Attorney
Columbus
614.227.2367
mhumphrey@bricker.com
Stephen Intihar Stephen Intihar Partner
Stephen Intihar Partner
Columbus
614.227.2376
sintihar@bricker.com
Holli Jarrell Holli Jarrell Legal Assistant
Holli Jarrell Legal Assistant
Columbus
614.227.4936
hjarrell@bricker.com
M. Shannon Martin M. Shannon Martin Partner
M. Shannon Martin Partner
Cincinnati-Dayton
513.870.6692
smartin@bricker.com
Charles H. McCreary Charles H. McCreary Partner
Charles H. McCreary Partner
Columbus
614.227.2387
cmccreary@bricker.com
Robert C. Rafferty Robert C. Rafferty Partner
Robert C. Rafferty Partner
Columbus
614.227.2306
rrafferty@bricker.com
Nicklaus J. Reis Nicklaus J. Reis Associate
Nicklaus J. Reis Associate
Columbus
614.227.2309
nreis@bricker.com
Todd O. Reutzel Todd O. Reutzel Partner
Todd O. Reutzel Partner
Columbus
614.227.8849
treutzel@bricker.com
Andrew M. Shott Andrew M. Shott Partner
Andrew M. Shott Partner
Cincinnati-Dayton
513.870.6012
ashott@bricker.com
Rachel L. Stine Rachel L. Stine Associate
Rachel L. Stine Associate
Columbus
614.227.7715
rstine@bricker.com
Christopher N. Swank Christopher N. Swank Partner
Christopher N. Swank Partner
Columbus
614.227.4895
cswank@bricker.com
Alyson N. Varda Alyson N. Varda Staff Attorney
Alyson N. Varda Staff Attorney
Columbus
614.227.4819
avarda@bricker.com