Industries & Practices

Education (Pre-K to 12)

We empower educational institutions with smart, innovative and practical solutions throughout all stages of learning.   

Overview

Addressing everything from facility needs to student issues to employee relations, we have built valuable partnerships with schools throughout Ohio. In fact, Bricker has the largest and most comprehensive education law practice in the state. We represent a wide range of education clients, including well over 200 public school districts. Despite our size, our services are tailored, and our accessibility and responsiveness is unmatched.

Types of clients we represent:

  • K-12 schools (private and public)
  • Career/technical schools
  • Community schools
  • Education service centers
  • Information technology centers

 

Related Industries & Practices

Areas of Focus

Our cost-effective legal services are designed to support schools’ goals. Specifically, we have experience in collective bargaining, board policy development, discrimination claims, student discipline, special education, district-sponsored community schools, public records/sunshine laws and more. 

Whether initiating new programs or solving issues within existing ones, our attorneys assist schools with effective revenue generation strategies. Our experience includes bond and note issuances and tax levies, as well as lease-purchase arrangements, collaborative agreements, foundation programs, protection of assessed valuation and more.

We work with district administrators to identify and define the statutory requirements applicable to each project. We help analyze the benefits and risks of the various project delivery models available to school districts and the applicable parameters to selecting project professionals. Our construction attorneys provide guidance with regard to any issues that may arise during design, construction, close-out, claims and post-occupancy.

From providing guidance on compensation to assisting with union negotiations, our employment attorneys collaborate with our education team to build proactive plans and creative solutions to keep employees focused on the classroom and out of the courtroom. 

From providing guidance on compensation to assisting with union negotiations, our employment attorneys collaborate with our education team to build proactive plans and creative solutions to keep employees focused on the classroom and out of the courtroom. 

Our lawyers provide a full range of real estate law services to schools and education clients. From acquisition, eminent domain, annexation, financing and development to investment, leasing and sales, our team assists in all aspects of real estate dealings — and with all the details these transactions entail. 

Our tax attorneys frequently represent school districts before county boards of revision, the Board of Tax Appeals and the Supreme Court of Ohio in disputes related to the valuation of real property. Also, for more than a decade, our firm had first-hand involvement in DeRolph vs. State, contributing to our deep understanding of school funding. 

Our lawyer-lobbyists work with schools, school districts and boards of education to develop and execute an effective advocacy plan. Whether lobbying for legislative change or taking an issue to the ballot, we partner with schools to ensure their students’ and employees’ interests are heard.   

Experience

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Insights & Resources
Resource Centers

This landmark case, which took place from 1991 to 2003, plays a critical role in the way schools are funded. Because Bricker & Eckler represented the plaintiff's in this case, a detailed timeline and related information is available, describing this important decision. For more information, please visit our DeRolph v. State of Ohio Resource Center.

A collection of documentation related to Title IX issues on college campuses and education environments. For more information, please visit our Title IX Resource Center.

Upcoming Events
SEP
26
Speaking Engagements

When: Wednesday, September 26, 2018 at 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM

Where: Multiple Locations

Who: Federico G. Barrera III, Dane A. Gaschen, Rachel King, Sue W. Yount

SEP
27
Speaking Engagements

When: Thursday, September 27, 2018 at 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM

Where: Multiple Locations

Who: Katie E. Johnson, Robert F. McCarthy

SEP
28
Other

When: Friday, September 28, 2018 at 8:30 AM to 3:30 PM

Where: Bricker & Eckler LLP

Who: Laura G. Anthony, Melissa M. Carleton


People
Jerry O. Allen Jerry O. Allen Partner
Jerry O. Allen Partner
Columbus
614.227.8834
jallen@bricker.com
Laura G. Anthony Laura G. Anthony Partner
Laura G. Anthony Partner
Columbus
614.227.2366
lanthony@bricker.com
Randy Bank Randy Bank Partner
Randy Bank Partner
Columbus
614.227.8836
rbank@bricker.com
Federico G. Barrera III Federico G. Barrera III Associate
Federico G. Barrera III Associate
Cleveland
216.523.5476
fbarrera@bricker.com
Melissa M. Bondy Melissa M. Bondy Senior Attorney
Melissa M. Bondy Senior Attorney
Columbus
614.227.8875
mbondy@bricker.com
Jonathan T. Brollier Jonathan T. Brollier Partner
Jonathan T. Brollier Partner
Columbus
614.227.8805
jbrollier@bricker.com
Diana S. Brown Diana S. Brown Partner
Diana S. Brown Partner
Columbus
614.227.8823
dbrown@bricker.com
Kimball H. Carey Kimball H. Carey Of Counsel
Kimball H. Carey Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.4891
kcarey@bricker.com
Melissa M. Carleton Melissa M. Carleton Associate
Melissa M. Carleton Associate
Columbus
614.227.4846
mcarleton@bricker.com
Janet K. Cooper Janet K. Cooper Of Counsel
Janet K. Cooper Of Counsel
Dayton
937.224.1799
jcooper@bricker.com
Kate V. Davis Kate V. Davis Senior Attorney
Kate V. Davis Senior Attorney
Dayton
937.535.3902
kdavis@bricker.com
Nicole M. Donovsky Nicole M. Donovsky Of Counsel
Nicole M. Donovsky Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.4866
ndonovsky@bricker.com
Jennifer A. Flint Jennifer A. Flint Senior Attorney
Jennifer A. Flint Senior Attorney
Columbus
614.227.2316
jflint@bricker.com
Dane A. Gaschen Dane A. Gaschen Partner
Dane A. Gaschen Partner
Columbus
614.227.8887
dgaschen@bricker.com
Susan E. Geary Susan E. Geary Of Counsel
Susan E. Geary Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2330
sgeary@bricker.com
Sylvia Lynn Gillis Sylvia Lynn Gillis Partner
Sylvia Lynn Gillis Partner
Columbus
614.227.2353
sgillis@bricker.com
Susan B. Greenberger Susan B. Greenberger Of Counsel
Susan B. Greenberger Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.8848
sgreenberger@bricker.com
Warren I. Grody Warren I. Grody Senior Attorney
Warren I. Grody Senior Attorney
Columbus
614.227.2332
wgrody@bricker.com
Katie E. Johnson Katie E. Johnson Partner
Katie E. Johnson Partner
Columbus
614.227.2349
kejohnson@bricker.com
Rachel King Rachel King Of Counsel
Rachel King Of Counsel
Cleveland
216.523.5471
rsking@bricker.com
Megan Savage Knox Megan Savage Knox Staff Attorney
Megan Savage Knox Staff Attorney
Columbus
614.227.8885
mknox@bricker.com
David J. Lampe David J. Lampe Partner
David J. Lampe Partner
Cincinnati
513.870.6561
dlampe@bricker.com
Christopher L. McCloskey Christopher L. McCloskey Partner
Christopher L. McCloskey Partner
Columbus
614.227.2385
cmccloskey@bricker.com
Beverly A. Meyer Beverly A. Meyer Of Counsel
Beverly A. Meyer Of Counsel
Dayton
937.224.1849
bmeyer@bricker.com
Joshua D. Nolan Joshua D. Nolan Of Counsel
Joshua D. Nolan Of Counsel
Cleveland
216.523.5485
jnolan@bricker.com
Susan L. Oppenheimer Susan L. Oppenheimer Senior Attorney
Susan L. Oppenheimer Senior Attorney
Columbus
614.227.8822
soppenheimer@bricker.com
Karen "Katy" W. Osborn Karen "Katy" W. Osborn Of Counsel
Karen "Katy" W. Osborn Of Counsel
Dayton
937.535.3905
kosborn@bricker.com
Nicholas A. Pittner Nicholas A. Pittner Of Counsel
Nicholas A. Pittner Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.8815
npittner@bricker.com
Rebecca C. Princehorn Rebecca C. Princehorn Partner
Rebecca C. Princehorn Partner
Columbus
614.227.2302
rprincehorn@bricker.com
Jack Rosati, Jr. Jack Rosati, Jr. Partner
Jack Rosati, Jr. Partner
Columbus
614.227.2321
jrosati@bricker.com
Richard W. Ross Richard W. Ross Of Counsel
Richard W. Ross Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.4873
rross@bricker.com
Paul S. Rutter Paul S. Rutter Of Counsel
Paul S. Rutter Of Counsel
Columbus
614.227.2372
prutter@bricker.com
Matthew L. Stout Matthew L. Stout Partner
Matthew L. Stout Partner
Columbus
614.227.8861
mstout@bricker.com
Jason R. Stuckey Jason R. Stuckey Associate
Jason R. Stuckey Associate
Cincinnati
513.870.6687
jstuckey@bricker.com
Catherine M. Swartz Catherine M. Swartz Of Counsel
Catherine M. Swartz Of Counsel
Cleveland
216.523.5465
cswartz@bricker.com
Sue W. Yount Sue W. Yount Partner
Sue W. Yount Partner
Columbus
614.227.2336
syount@bricker.com
In The Headlines
Twitter

@BrickerEdLaw Tweets


Products
Special Education Training Videos

The Bricker & Eckler Education Law team brings special education issues to life through informative, entertaining and memorable training videos. Each video depicts a special education team meeting involving challenging legal issues and common compliance blunders. Through the expert leadership of the district representative and the narrator comments, the videos illustrate effective — and not so effective — techniques and provide practical tips and guidance on how to avoid common legal mistakes.