Industries & Practices

Government Relations


    Ohio election update – Results of key statewide races

    On November 4, Ohio voters cast ballots in the 2014 general election. Statewide offices — governor, secretary of state, treasurer, auditor, attorney general and two Supreme Court seats — were on the ballot. Results of the statewide races, as they are called, are provided below.

    Incumbent John Kasich was successful in his bid for another term as Ohio’s governor, beating challenger Ed FitzGerald.

    Secretary of State
    Incumbent Jon Husted was successful against State Senator Nina Turner (D-Cleveland).

    In one of the more closely contested races, incumbent Josh Mandel held off a challenge from State Representative Connie Pillich (D-Cincinnati) to retain his spot as Ohio’s Treasurer for another term.

    Ohio voters gave incumbent Dave Yost another term as auditor. Auditor Yost faced a challenge from State Representative John Patrick Carney (D-Columbus).

    Attorney General
    Attorney General Mike DeWine won reelection over challenger David Pepper.

    Ohio Supreme Court
    Justice Sharon Kennedy defeated challenger Tom Letson (D-Warren).

    In a closely contested race, Justice Judi French defeated challenger Judge John O’Donnell, a current sitting judge on the Cuyahoga County Court of Common Pleas.

    2nd Congressional District
    Incumbent Brad Wenstrup was successful against Democrat Marek Tyszkiewicz.

    3rd Congressional District
    Incumbent Joyce Beatty defeated Republican John Adams.

    4th Congressional District
    Incumbent Jim Jordan defeated Democrat Janet Garrett.

    5th Congressional District
    Incumbent Bob Latta defeated Democrat Robert Fry and Libertarian Eric Eberly.

    6th Congressional District
    Incumbent Bill Johnson has earned a second term in office, defeating Democrat Jennifer Garrison.

    8th Congressional District
    House Speaker John Boehner defeated challenger Thomas Poetter, a professor at Miami University.

    10th Congressional District
    Incumbent Mike Turner defeated Democrat Robert Klepinger and Libertarian David Harlow.

    12th Congressional District
    Incumbent Pat Tiberi defeated Democrat David Tibbs and Bob Hart, a Green Party candidate.

    15th Congressional District
    Incumbent Steve Stivers was successful against Democrat Scott Wharton.

    Please check back for more in-depth election coverage from Bricker & Eckler’s Government Relations group.

    This is for informational purposes only. It is not intended to be legal advice and does not create or imply an attorney-client relationship.

    Download PDF