Dane Stinson

Dane Stinson is a partner in Bricker & Eckler’s Energy, Public Utilities and Environmental law group. He has over 30 years of broad energy and telecommunications law experience. Dane focuses his practice on regulatory proceedings before the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio (PUCO) and the Ohio Power Siting Board (OPSB), as well as electric and natural gas competitive procurement and contracting issues. Dane represents the Northeast Ohio Public Energy Council (NOPEC) before the PUCO in a variety of matters affecting residential and commercial consumers’ electric and natural gas rates. NOPEC is the largest public retail energy aggregation in the United States, with about 220 county, township and municipal members. Dane also represents other large-scale commercial aggregation groups before the PUCO and in various energy procurement transactions.

Dane also represents developers of new generation facilities and electric/natural gas transmission lines before the OPSB, including combined cycle power plants, wind farms, natural gas pipelines and electric transmission lines. A significant portion of his practice has been assisting competitive retail electric and natural gas suppliers in regulatory proceedings before the PUCO and in procurement/contracting issues.

Dane has served in several public offices including as the Ohio Supreme Court’s Master Commissioner of Public Utility Law and Deputy Legal Director for the PUCO.

Presentations & Published Works

  • Presenter, Appellate and Original Jurisdiction, Stay of Execution, Ohio Supreme Court Public Utilities Seminar, January 2017
  • Author, “Electric and Natural Gas Aggregations For Townships; A Win-Win for Townships and Their Residents” Ohio Township News, May 2015
  • Presenter, Steps to Become a Municipal Aggregator in Ohio, Ohio Municipal Attorneys’ Association, December 2014

Bar Admissions & Activities

  • Chair, Ohio State Bar Association (Public Utilities Committee)
  • Member, Columbus Bar Association (Public Utilities Committee; Admissions Committee)
  • Member, Federal Communications Bar Association

Awards & Recognition

  • Listed, Best Lawyers in America (Energy Law; Oil and Gas Law), 2019–2020


  • The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law (J.D., 1981)
  • The Ohio State University (B.A., cum laude, 1978)
Best Lawyers Award Badge